Library guides: Linguistics: Databases and journals

Databases and journals

Key databases

Cambridge Journals Online
Provides full text and archival access for over 220 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices. To access full text you must be connected to Griffith network by logging in on a Griffith campus or using VPN. You will then be able to access this resource using your mobile device from off-campus.
CogPrints : Cognitive Sciences ePrint Archive
CogPrints is an Open-Access EPrint archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science, Philosophy, Biology, Medicine (e.g., Psychiatry, Neurology, human genetics, Imaging), Anthropology, as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.

Gale Research Complete
Includes access to journal articles, newspapers, reference material, audio content and ebooks across multiple disciplines. It also includes access to Gale Primary Sources.
This collection includes access to:
- Archives Unbound
- Gale Academic OneFile
- Gale Business: Insights
- Gale eBooks
- Gale General OneFile
- Gale Literature Criticism
- Gale Literature Resource Center
- Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors
- Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Gale Literature: LitFinder
- Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series
- Gale Literature: Something About the Author
- Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series
- Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
- Gale OneFile: News.
JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.
Language and Linguistics Compass (Wiley)
Online journal that publishes articles and review literature on the latest research in language and linguistics.
Linguistics Database (ProQuest)
Provides access to full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). All aspects of the study of language are covered, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Gale OneFile: Australia and New Zealand
Provides access to full-text content from magazines, journals, news, and multimedia sources across multiple disciplines. Covering important issues and current events related to Australia and New Zealand.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences : IBSS (ProQuest)
Index of international journal articles, books, book chapters and reviews covering the cross-disciplines of social science.
MLA International Bibliography With Full Text (EBSCOhost)
MLA International Bibliography With Full Text indexes articles covering modern languages, literatures, dramatic arts, folklore and linguistics.
Content includes millions of detailed bibliographic citations, access to the MLA Thesaurus, and full-text for around 1,000 journals with complete backfiles for around 50 journals. A number of journals have 12- or 18-month embargoes on the current content.

Oxford Journals
Access journals for all disciplines.
more...less...
Oxford University Press publishes over 170 journals, most of which are available online. Subject coverage is broad and includes: biochemistry and molecular biology; biology and ecology journals; computing and engineering; economics, business and management; medicine and health sciences; history; law; mathematics and statistics; political science; sociology and social work.

ProQuest
Multidisciplinary database with access to journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research and subject areas like The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, and the Social Sciences. Content is from all kinds of sources like Newpapers, Dissertations and Theses, Company annual reports and Snaphots. Proquest also includes the ProQuest Central database with over 11,000 scholarly journals.
MOBILE ACCESS FOR SELECTED DATABASES ONLY: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
SAGE Journals Online
Access journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Griffith University subscribes to the SAGE Premier package, which gives access to most, though not all, of the journals on SAGE Journals Online. SAGE's publishing focus is mainly the social sciences and humanities.

Social Sciences Citation Index
One of the citation index databases that make up the Web of Science database. It is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
NOTE: To search the Social Sciences Citation Index separately in Web of Science, click on 'Editions: All' and leave only 'Social Sciences Citation Index' checked.

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences.
Taylor and Francis Journals
Journals and other publications for all disciplines published by Taylor and Francis.
Online access to journals published by the Taylor & Francis Group (including the imprints Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Carfax, Spon, Psychology Press and Garland Science). Coverage is mainly in the social sciences and humanities.
Mobile access: Optimised for use on mobile devices.

Linguistics

Databases and journals

Key databases

Key journals