Get started

Welcome to the Jazz and Popular Music subject guide

Key jazz and popular music resources

Audio

Naxos Music Library Jazz
Provides streaming music, cover artwork, biographies and more. This resource concentrates on jazz music, featuring music and artists from labels such Blue Note Records and Fantasy eg. Herbie Handcokc, Dexter Gordon, Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter, Sonny Rollins, Thelonius Monk, John Coltrane, Miles Davis and more.
5 simultaneous user limit.
Australian Jazz Real Book
The Australian Jazz Real Book is the definitive collection of the best Australian jazz tunes. Features over 400 sheets of Australian jazz tunes from Australian composers, curated into seventeen styles, as well as artist biographies and some streaming audio clips.

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Grove Music Online
An authorative resource for music research covering the history, theory and cultures of music from around the world. Contains detailed music definitions, performer and composer biographies including works produced, score, audio and image examples.
Updated frequently, Grove Music Online is an essential tool for anyone interested in researching, teaching, or just learning more about music. Written and edited by more than 9,000 subject experts, Grove’s 57,000 articles offer clear overviews of topics from a scholarly perspective and include extensive bibliographies, which are curated to guide users through existing scholarship. Grove’s 40,000 biographical articles provide life information and detailed works lists for composers, performers, and other important musical figures. Grove Music Online also features more than 6,000 images, musical examples, and links to audio and video examples.
6 simultaneous user limit.

Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals.
more...less...
6 simultaneous user limit.

Journal articles

Music and Sound (Bloomsbury)
Provides access to reference and scholarship level content and a variety of learning resources across a range of subject areas in music and sound studies including scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide from the mid-20th century to the present day. It supports courses in ethnomusicology, the performing arts, media and communication, cultural studies, anthropology and sociology.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
Provides full text access to scholarly and trade/practice articles covering all aspects of music.
This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals.. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
Rock's Backpages
Provides access to the newspaper and magazine articles, audio interviews and reviews from music writers and critics.
A database of over 13,000 rock music articles, interviews and reviews from the world's best music writers and critics, from the late 1950s to the present day.
Music ID
Provides global music industry data from Billboard and streaming services about music charts (current and historical), music downloads, and revenue.
Music Index (EBSCOhost)
Provides citations and abstracts of articles from scholarly journals and other sources and covers all genres of music.
Taylor and Francis Journals
Journals and other publications for all disciplines published by Taylor and Francis.
Online access to journals published by the Taylor & Francis Group (including the imprints Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Carfax, Spon, Psychology Press and Garland Science). Coverage is mainly in the social sciences and humanities.
Mobile access: Optimised for use on mobile devices.