Provides streaming music, cover artwork, biographies and more. This resource concentrates on western classical music but contains content from other genres such as jazz, world, classic rock and nostalgia.
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. The Naxos Music Library offers complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 400 independent labels such as ARC, Berlin Classics, BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, CPO, EMI Classics, Erato, Haenssler Classic, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naïve, Naxos, Nimbus, Ondine, Teldec, Vanguard Classics, Virgin Classics and Warner Classics. Resources include music notes, cover artwork, tracklistings, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas, more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, glossary, guide to musical terms and work analyses. Streaming quality is 128 Kbps.
A collection of streaming video performances of the most commonly studied operas and covers the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the present. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance in the world of opera.
An authorative resource for music research covering the history, theory and cultures of music from around the world. Contains detailed music definitions, performer and composer biographies including works produced, score, audio and image examples.
Updated frequently, Grove Music Online is an essential tool for anyone interested in researching, teaching, or just learning more about music. Written and edited by more than 9,000 subject experts, Grove’s 57,000 articles offer clear overviews of topics from a scholarly perspective and include extensive bibliographies, which are curated to guide users through existing scholarship. Grove’s 40,000 biographical articles provide life information and detailed works lists for composers, performers, and other important musical figures. Grove Music Online also features more than 6,000 images, musical examples, and links to audio and video examples. 6 simultaneous user limit.
Contains International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content. Translations into English from multiple languages.
The AusStage Directory is a database of information on resources on Australia's performing arts heritage. Its primary aim is provide information on where research resources might be located. These may be found in institutions such as libraries, musea and universities, with theatre or other performing arts companies, or with individual collectors.
OBPS (Index to Opera and Ballet Sources Online) is an ongoing project aimed at indexing free online primary sources related to various forms of dramatic music in a wide variety of formats. It currently points to more than 25,000 resources including scores, sets of part, mise en scène, violon répétieurs and other violin conductor parts, souffleur parts, concert programs, some archival documents, and many librettos. It offers the advantage of searching across more than 30 digital collections in a single interface while providing a convenient link back to the source in its original context. In addition to the basic points of access (person, title, genre, date, etc.), OBPS facilitates searching in other more specialized categories including RISM A/I numbers and RISM library sigla. The index is updated with additional resources on a regular basis.