Scores
Scores - Databases
Classical Scores Library by Alexander Street Press is a great resource to discover compositions for your instrument and ensemble. New and old compositions can be accessed and printed.
- Naxos Sheet Music
Provides digital sheet music in all classical genres, spanning music from Medieval to the 21st century and composers from Bach to Arvo Part. Music can be downloaded and printed, and many works can also be transposed into any key or clef within the database.
- IPA Source
Contains International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content. Translations into English from multiple languages.
- Opera and Ballet Primary SourcesOBPS (Index to Opera and Ballet Sources Online) is an ongoing project aimed at indexing free online primary sources related to various forms of dramatic music in a wide variety of formats. It currently points to more than 25,000 resources including scores, sets of part, mise en scène, violon répétieurs and other violin conductor parts, souffleur parts, concert programs, some archival documents, and many librettos. It offers the advantage of searching across more than 30 digital collections in a single interface while providing a convenient link back to the source in its original context. In addition to the basic points of access (person, title, genre, date, etc.), OBPS facilitates searching in other more specialized categories including RISM A/I numbers and RISM library sigla. The index is updated with additional resources on a regular basis.
- International Music Score Library ProjectBased on the wiki principle, IMSLP attempts to create a free virtual library containing all public domain musical scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge.
- Choral Public Domain LibraryA collection of free choral/vocal scores, texts and translations
- Mutopia ProjectThe Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain, and include works by Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart, and many others.
- Music Online : Classical Scores Library (Alexander Street Press)A collection of online classical music scores from major and lesser known composers covering many different instruments, ensembles and genres. Collection contains both in-copyright and public domain music scores.
Finding Print Scores
Use Advanced Keyword search
An advanced keyword search allows you to combine the surname of the composer, the title of the music score and narrow the scope of the search to retrieve only music scores in the displayed results.
Search Tips for Scores
- Include composer's surname
- Include the instrument (trumpet, violin, piano, voice type)
- Use the plural of the music genre (sonatas, symphonies, concertos) - See Uniform Titles section.
- Use unique numbers. Enter the numbers only. If the score is Opus 101, just enter 101.
From the Library home page click on quick links to access the Classic Library Catalogue.
For further information on finding scores see sections below on original languages and uniform titles.
