Library guides: Philosophy and ethics: Databases and journals

Databases and journals

Key journal databases

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. To search Arts and Humanities Citation Index separately in Web of Science, click 'Editions: All' and leave only 'Arts and Humanities Citation Index' checked.

Gale Academic OneFile
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources across a wide range of subjects.
With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find relevant information quickly.
Gale Academic OneFile also offers videos, podcasts and transcripts, and full-text of The Times, Financial Times and The Economist from 1998 to the present and the New York Times from 1985 to the present.

Gale Academic OneFile includes the Gale database Expanded Academic ASAP as a subset. In July 2019 this subset (Expanded Academic ASAP) was rebranded as Gale Academic OneFile Select.
Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for the arts, communication, education, history, linguistics, politics and more.
Covers Agriculture, Arts, Asian Studies, Business, Cultural Studies, Education, Health, Medicine, History, Indigenous Studies, Law, Media, Political Science, Reference, Social Sciences, Science and Technology. NOTE: Coverage - 1940 to present.
JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.
Philosophy Compass (Wiley)
Peer-reviewed articles on philosphy. Includes interpretation guides.
Project MUSE
Collects peer reviewed humanities and social science resources primarily published by American Universities. Discipline coverage includes arts, social sciences, Asian studies, economics, film, theatre and performing arts, history, literary studies, music, philosophy and political science.
Religion Database (ProQuest)
Provides a range of full text resources on topics across religious and spiritual studies and theological studies.
SAGE Journals Online
Access journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Griffith University subscribes to the SAGE Premier package, which gives access to most, though not all, of the journals on SAGE Journals Online. SAGE's publishing focus is mainly the social sciences and humanities.
Social Theory (Alexander Street Press)
Diverse collection of texts that focuses on sociological theory from the eighteen century to the present. Comprising works from leading authors in the field across topics such as general sociology and anthropology; religion and philosophy; conflict theory; political sociology; functionalism; feminism; social psychology; interactionism; postmodernism and linguistics.

Key journals: Scholarly peer-reviewed

Australasian Journal of Philosophy
"The Australasian Journal of Philosophy (AJP) is one of the world's leading philosophy journals."
British Journal for the History of Philosophy : BJHP
The journal of the British Society for the history of Philosophy.
Ethics
"Ethics features scholarly work that covers a range of topics pertaining to moral, political, and legal philosophy from a variety of intellectual perspectives, including social and political theory, law, and economics."
Journal of Applied Philosophy
The Journal of Applied Philosophy is a peer reviewed journal covering issues including health care, science, environment, technology, media, law, economics, sexuality, family, race, gender and education.
Journal of Ethics & Social Philosophy
Peer-reviewed journal of moral, political, and legal philosophy
Mind
MIND is a peer reviewed journal covering a variety of fields.
The Philosophical Quarterly
The Philosophical Quarterly is a highly regarded academic journal that publishes articles, discussions and reviews.
The Philosophical Review
The Philosophical Review has been in publication since 1892 and publishes material of general interest to academic philosophers.