Access journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Griffith University subscribes to the SAGE Premier package, which gives access to most, though not all, of the journals on SAGE Journals Online. SAGE's publishing focus is mainly the social sciences and humanities. Summary of licence
A full-text journal database which draws its content primarily from journals published by the American Universities. Disciplinary coverage of the journals is wide but focused in the arts and social sciences covering such disciplines as Asian studies, economics, film, theatre and the performing arts, history (including the history of science and medicine), literary studies, music, philosophy and political science.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of subject areas, focusing on the arts, humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks, and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.
MOBILE ACCESS: Site will automatically detect screen size and adjust accordingly. Summary of licence
Philosophy Compass publishes peer-reviewed surveys of the most important research and current thinking from across the entire discipline. Philosophy Compass provides an ideal starting point for the non-specialist, offering pointers for researchers, teachers and students alike, to help them find and interpret the best research in the field.
Oxford Reference is the home of Oxford’s quality reference publishing, bringing together over 2 million entries, many of which are illustrated, into a single cross-searchable resource. Newly relaunched with a brand new look and feel, and specifically designed to meet the needs and expectations of reference users, Oxford Reference provides quality, up-to-date reference content at the click of a button. Made up of two main collections, both fully integrated and cross-searchable, Oxford Reference couples Oxford’s trusted A-Z reference material with an intuitive design to deliver a discoverable, up-to-date, and expanding reference resource.
Covers all areas of philosophy and contains terms from Includes 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers and covers the most recent terms and concepts from Western philosophical traditions, as well as Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy.
The Macquarie Dictionary & Thesaurus Online features easy, comprehensive and interactive searching of over 121,000 headwords and phrases and over 210,000 definitions, with the ability to search either the dictionary, thesaurus or both.
Thirty distinguished scholars contribute incisive and up-to-date critical surveys of the principal areas of research. The coverage is broad, with sections devoted to moral philosophy, social and political philosophy, philosophy of mind and action, philosophy of language, metaphysics, epistemology, and philosophy of the sciences.
Gathers together the key texts from the most significant and influential philosophers of the late modern era, featuring writings of Locke, Berkeley, Hume, Leibniz, Kant, Rousseau, Bentham and other leading thinkers, and examines topics including empiricism, rationalism, and the existence of God.
This work provides a survey of philosophy from Descartes to Hegel, found in unpublished manuscripts of the British/South African philosopher Arthur Ritchie Lord. These studies focus on what Lord called ‘logic’ – what would be considered today as metaphysics and epistemology- and extensive discussion of Hegel’s contributions.