Represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library and covers Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies, Stolen generation, removal of children, Arts, copyright issues, Racism, discrimination, Internet and telecommunications facilities and Communities. NOTE: Coverage - 1968 to December 2002.
A digital library of Australian general interest and literary journals that began publication between 1840-1845. The format used is PDF (Portable Document Format), and the collection is both searchable and browsable. More titles are being added to this useful resource for Australian studies. A collaborative initiative between the University of Sydney Library, the National Library of Australia and the State Library of New South Wales.
AHRR is a list of paper-based records held in private hands in Australia, providing an insight into life in Australia from settlement to 1988 and is a product of the Australian Bicentennial Historic Records Search, the major heritage project of the Australian Bicentennial Authority. NOTE: Coverage - Settlement to 1988.
Find out about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, history, culture, and rights. Preserving over 6 million feet of film, 650,000 photographs, 35,000 hours of sound, rare books, manuscripts and more dating back to 1818.
Australian Aboriginal Studies is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal promoting high-quality research in Australian Indigenous studies, with a focus on the humanities and social sciences. It is published for a wide audience in both print and digital form, and visual content is encouraged.
Since 1977 the journal Aboriginal History has pioneered interdisciplinary historical studies of Australian Aboriginal people's and Torres Strait Islander's interactions with non-Indigenous peoples. It has promoted publication of Indigenous oral traditions, biographies, languages, archival and bibliographic guides, archaeology, sociology, linguistics, demography, law, geography and cultural, political and economic history.
An authoritative survey of Australian Aboriginal writing over two centuries, across a wide range of fiction and non-fiction genres. Including some of the most distinctive writing produced in Australia, it offers rich insights into Aboriginal culture and experience.
Dialogue about Land Justice provides a solid understanding for readers of the key issues around native title from the minds of leading thinkers, commentators and senior jurists. It consolidates sixteen papers presented to the national Native Title Conference since the historic Mabo judgment.
Housing reforms in remote Indigenous communities have resulted in various tenancy management arrangements with management spread across state, community and private housing sectors. Discussion Paper: Australian Housing and Urban Research Institute
Learn from real voices and experiences. This book helps pre-service teachers prepare themselves for teaching Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students in urban, remote and rural primary and secondary schools.
The Macquarie Dictionary & Thesaurus Online features easy, comprehensive and interactive searching of over 121,000 headwords and phrases and over 210,000 definitions, with the ability to search either the dictionary, thesaurus or both.