Databases and journals
Key journal databases
- Indigenous Australia (via Informit)Represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library and covers Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies, Stolen generation, removal of children, Arts, copyright issues, Racism, discrimination, Internet and telecommunications facilities and Communities. NOTE: Coverage - 1968 to December 2002.
- Indigenous Studies Bibliography (via Informit)Covers published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies. NOTE: Coverage - 1990 to present.
- Indigenous Collection (Informit)
Covering content on historical and topical issues within indigenous studies. Including anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts.
- AustLit
An authoritative index providing bibliographic, biographical, critical and production information about Australian literature, authors and literary organisations. Full text is available for some works including poetry, criticism, novels, BlackWords, reviews and children's literature.
- Australian Heritage Bibliography (via Informit)Covers information on Australia's natural and cultural environment, including national parks, endangered species, wilderness areas, important historical and archaeological sites, historic buildings, structures and towns and is produced by the Australian Heritage Commission. NOTE: Coverage - 1987 to present.
- Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) (Informit)
Covers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. Topics include current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
- History Compass (Wiley)
Collection of peer-reviewed surveys of research and current thinking in History.
- JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
- Literature Compass (Wiley)
Literature Compass publishes peer-reviewed articles on the most important research and current thinking from across the entire discipline.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Key journals
- Aboriginal HistorySince 1977 the journal Aboriginal History has pioneered interdisciplinary historical studies of Australian Aboriginal people's and Torres Strait Islander's interactions with non-Indigenous peoples. It has promoted publication of Indigenous oral traditions, biographies, languages, archival and bibliographic guides, archaeology, sociology, linguistics, demography, law, geography and cultural, political and economic history.
- Australian Aboriginal StudiesA publication of the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies.
- Australian Historical StudiesAustralian Historical Studies is a refereed journal that deals with all aspects of the history of Australia including its global context.
- Australian Indigenous Law ReviewThe Australian Indigenous Law Review is a peer-reviewed journal publishing quality research on the legal issues affecting Indigenous peoples in Australia and around the world.
- The Australian Journal of Indigenous EducationA peer reviewed research journal for educators devoted specifically to issues of practice, pedagogy and policy in Indigenous education in Australia. The journal has an international audience and is highly valued by its readers as a reliable source of information on Indigenous education issues.
- Journal of Australian Indigenous IssuesThe Journal of Australian Indigenous Issues (JAII) is an interdisciplinary academic journal publishing refereed articles in all areas of Australian Indigenous Studies.
- Ngoonjook: Batchelor journal of Aboriginal educationNgoonjook seeks to make relevant material available to an Indigenous readership and to all those interested in Indigenous Australian issues. Themes explored include: education, health, cultural identity, natural and cultural resource management, the arts and linguistics.
