Databases and journals
Key journal databases
- Arts and Humanities Citation IndexMultidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. To search Arts and Humanities Citation Index separately in Web of Science, click 'Editions: All' and leave only 'Arts and Humanities Citation Index' checked.
- Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) (Informit)
Covers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. Topics include current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
- Family and Society Collection (Informit)
Covers family related research, policy and practice relevant to Australian families.
- Gale Academic OneFile
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources across a wide range of subjects.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for the arts, communication, education, history, linguistics, politics and more.
- Indigenous Australia (via Informit)Represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library and covers Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies, Stolen generation, removal of children, Arts, copyright issues, Racism, discrimination, Internet and telecommunications facilities and Communities. NOTE: Coverage - 1968 to December 2002.
- JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
- Project MUSE
Collects peer reviewed humanities and social science resources primarily published by American Universities. Discipline coverage includes arts, social sciences, Asian studies, economics, film, theatre and performing arts, history, literary studies, music, philosophy and political science.
- Research Library (ProQuest)
Offers multidisciplinary resources across business, health and medicine, history, literature and language, science and technology, social sciences and the arts.
- SAGE Journals Online
Access journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
- Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Social Theory (Alexander Street Press)
Diverse collection of texts that focuses on sociological theory from the eighteen century to the present. Comprising works from leading authors in the field across topics such as general sociology and anthropology; religion and philosophy; conflict theory; political sociology; functionalism; feminism; social psychology; interactionism; postmodernism and linguistics.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences.
Key journals: Scholarly peer-reviewed
- American sociological review"American Sociological Review (ASR), the ASA's flagship journal, was founded in 1936 with the mission to publish original works of interest to the discipline of sociology in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations."
- Annual review of sociology"The Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields. Review chapters typically cover social processes, institutions and culture, organizations, political and economic sociology, stratification, demography, urban sociology, social policy, historical sociology, and major developments in sociology in other regions of the world." - Annual Reviews
- Cultural sociology"Cultural Sociology publishes peer-reviewed, empirically oriented, theoretically sophisticated, methodologically rigorous papers, which explore from a broad set of sociological perspectives a diverse range of socio-cultural forces, phenomena, institutions and contexts."
- Discourse : Berkeley journal for theoretical studies in media and culture."Since its founding in 1979, Discourse has been committed to publishing work in the theoretical humanities with an emphasis on the critical study of film, literature, the visual arts, and related audiovisual media."
- International political sociology"This journal responds to the need for more productive collaboration among political sociologists, international relations specialists and sociopolitical theorists."
- Sociological research onlineAn electronic peer-reviewed journal which focuses on theoretical, empirical and methodological discussions.
- The sociological review"The Sociological Review is one of the world’s foremost journals for sociological inquiry in all traditions, with over 100 years of publishing high quality and innovative articles. The journal is committed to the far-reaching intellectualism of sociological thought as well as championing a cause: that sociology matters."
