Library guides: Animation and Games Design: Databases, Journals and Journal Articles

Databases, Journals and Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Use the library catalogue to search for journal articles in our collection that can help broaden your knowledge of your topic. Search using keywords to find journal articles. On the search results page under 'Limit to' select the peer-review box to limit to peer reviewed journal articles.

Key Databases

Library databases contain scholarly literature such as journal articles, books and conference proceedings. Griffith subscribes to the databases listed below which are of particular relevance for Animation and Games Design. Some are relevant across the whole discipline and some for specific subsets. There are also other databases that may include relevant information for your studies.

ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library contains full-text articles from all of the journals and magazines published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) from 1991 to the latest issue plus all of the ACM conference proceedings for the same period. Over 250,000 pages of text covering all aspects of computing are available for searching. Great for games, animation, virtual reality, interactive media.
The ACM Digital Library contains full-text articles from all of the journals and magazines published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) from 1991 to the latest issue plus all of the ACM conference proceedings for the same period. Over 250,000 pages of text covering all aspects of computing are available for searching.
Art Full Text (EBSCOhost)
This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. Subjects covered include: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. To search Arts and Humanities Citation Index separately in Web of Science, click 'Editions: All' and leave only 'Arts and Humanities Citation Index' checked.

JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.
Project MUSE
Collects peer reviewed humanities and social science resources primarily published by American Universities. Discipline coverage includes arts, social sciences, Asian studies, economics, film, theatre and performing arts, history, literary studies, music, philosophy and political science.
ProQuest
Multidisciplinary database with access to journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research and subject areas like The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, and the Social Sciences. Content is from all kinds of sources like Newpapers, Dissertations and Theses, Company annual reports and Snaphots. Proquest also includes the ProQuest Central database with over 11,000 scholarly journals.
MOBILE ACCESS FOR SELECTED DATABASES ONLY: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
SAGE Journals Online
Access journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Griffith University subscribes to the SAGE Premier package, which gives access to most, though not all, of the journals on SAGE Journals Online. SAGE's publishing focus is mainly the social sciences and humanities.
Screen Studies (Bloomsbury)
Covers film history, theory and practice, including screenwriting, TV, animation and filmmaking technique. Contains screenplays, a timeline of film history, film stills, overview articles and eBooks.
Visible Body
This database provides thousands of 3D models for each model (male and female), hundreds of animations, and a text library with thousands of medical definitions and animation scripts in multiple languages for learning and teaching anatomy and physiology. Griffith University subscribes to the Visible Body Premium Collection, which includes the three modules Human Anatomy Atlas, Physiology & Pathology and Muscle Premium. For each of these there is a Desktop (PC/Mac) version and a Mobile App version.
Click the Visible Body link in this record for more information on connecting to the desktop version, downloading and installing the mobile apps, and for links to help and troubleshooting guides.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.

Key journals for Animation and Games Design

Animation
Games Design

Animation: An Interdisciplinary Journal
Animation: an interdisciplinary journal provides the first cohesive, international peer-reviewed publishing platform for animation that unites contributions from a wide range of research agendas and creative practice.
Animation Magazine
Animation Magazine is an American print magazine and website covering the animation industry and education, as well as visual effects.
Mechademia
Peer-reviewed academic journal in English about Japanese popular culture products and fan practices.
Animation Studies
The Peer-reviewed Open Access Online Journal for Animation History and Theory. It is devoted to the history, theory, aesthetics and practice of animated media.
Animation World magazine
Animation World Magazine "is the first and only monthly electronic publication dedicated to the art, craft and industry of the international animation community." It is published in two editions each month.

Simulation and Gaming
Simulation and Gaming is a bimonthly peer-reviewed scientific journal that covers the field of computer simulation, including virtual reality and educational games.

Key Online Resources

BrowZine Library
Use BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from your university
Trove
Search to explore collections from Australian libraries, museums, galleries and archives online.

What about searching Google Scholar and being asked to pay to view an article?

If you are prompted to pay to access an article, you may have found your way to a commercial publisher's site. It is wise to check if the library provides free access to that article via one of our journal or database subscriptions. You are able to do this in Google Scholar by setting up Full Text@Griffith links in Google Scholar.

The Full Text@Griffith links appear next to a result when that item is available in full text via our Griffith library subscriptions. If you are using the Griffith network to connect to Google Scholar, these links appear automatically. Alternatively, if you are accessing Google Scholar directly on the web, you can set up the Full Text@Griffith links.