Statistics and market research
Key databases and organisations
- ABS Statistics
Australia's national statistical agency and an official source of independent, reliable information. Access to the full range of the Bureau's statistical and reference information, including census data from 1996 onwards.
- Australian Government DataThis website provides an easy way to find, access and reuse public datasets from Government.
- Facts and Figures (Australian Institute of Family Studies)Family facts and figures provides broad trends in Australian families. These trends are primarily based on statistics published by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS), though data from major Australian surveys are also used. Contains statistics relating to Australian families including marriage, cohabitation, divorce and child protection.
- Office of Economic and Statistical Research (Qld)This site contains a wide range of demographic, economic and social data relating to the state of Queensland, as well as information about using statistics.
- Australian Bureau of Agriculture and Resource Economics and Sciences (ABARES)The Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences is the research arm of the Australian Government Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment, providing professionally independent data, research, analysis and advice that informs public and private decisions affecting Australian agriculture, fisheries and forestry.
- Australian Export Finance and Insurance Corporation (EFIC)Includes country profiles and case studies.
- Reserve Bank of AustraliaStatistics, graphs and tables on the Australian economy and financial markets as well as commentary.
- Australia - OECDA wide range of indicators on agriculture, development, economy, education, energy, environment, finance, government, health, innovation and technology, jobs and society.
- EIU Viewpoint - Asia and Australasia
Integrates the EIU's forecasts for the global economy, daily insights, extensive country economic and political analysis, medium-term forecasts for markets, long-term economic projections, industry analysis and data, commodity forecasts, macroeconomic datasets and proprietary ratings and rankings. The Asia and Australasian segment covers Australia, New Zealand, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam.
- International Financial Statistics Online
A subset of the International Monetary Fund data containing statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
- Data Planet
Statistical information from U.S. Federal and State agencies, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
- Strategic AsiaThe Strategic Asia volume incorporates assessments of economic, political, and military trends and focuses on the strategies that drive policy in the region.
- Monthly Bulletin of Statistics
International economic, industrial, trade, and population statistics (monthly or quarterly). Data may be graphed, printed, or downloaded. Compiled by the United Nations.
- OECD dataStatistics include those for aid, broadband, composite lending indicators, development, economic outlook, education, forecast, GDP, harmonised unemployment rates, inflation, leading indicators, purchasing power parities, and unemployment. Selected real-time data also included.
- OECD statisitcsExtract data across datasets, find country indicators and view statistical series.
- United States Government DataData.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, design data visualizations, and more.
- Stats NZStats NZ is the lead agency for government-held data.
- UN dataSearch and download a variety of statistical resources from the United Nations statistics division.
- World Trade Organisation - StatisticsThe WTO provides quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues. Its data-bases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.
- UNCTADstat : ReportsProvides free access to comprehensive statistical time series and indicators essential for the analysis of world trade, development, and interrelated issues in the areas of finance, technology, investment and durable development.
- Trading EconomicsTrading Economics provides accurate information for 196 countries including historical data for more than 300,000 economic indicators, exchange rates, stock market indexes, government bond yields and commodity prices.
- Data.govU.S. Government data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
- ASEAN statisticsASEANstats is committed to serving the statistical information needs of the peoples, institutions, businesses and civil societies of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations and of the international community.
- Federal Reserve Economic DataUS economic time series, covering financial, employment and population data.
- International Trade CentreInformation and statistics on foreign direct investment and international trade, tariff data and activities of multinational firms, and it allows analysis by country, trading partner, and sector.
Market research
- Market research worldMarket Research World (MRW) previously Market Research Portal (MRP) offers a host of online resources and research related articles relevant to market research buyers, researchers, newcomers to the industry, students and individuals with an interest in the market research industry.
- NielsenLeading market research company. Free reports are available from their website.
- Ernst & YoungConsultancy company that produces market research reports. Some reports are available for free on their website.
- TrendwatchingTrendwatching produce a range of free reports that identify up and coming consumer trends.
- SuperbrandsThis site carries eBooks, case studies and publications about the top brands in Australia.
- Australian Television Audience Measurement (OzTAM)OzTAM is the official source of television audience measurement (TAM) covering Australia’s five mainland metropolitan markets and nationally for subscription television.
- Indigenous Audience ResearchDepartment of Finance reports on media consumption and communication preferences of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander audiences.
- Sprout SocialSocial media demographics, usage, personas and insights for marketers. Resources include guides, case studies, templates and reports.
- Khoros Social Media Demographics GuideAge, gender, income, device usage and site behaviour on social media platforms.
- Regional TAMOfficial viewing data of free-to-air and subscription television in regional Australia.
- ThinkTVFacts and statistics for advertising and building brands on TV.
- InterbrandBrand consultancy company. 'Best Global Brands' lists are published on their website.
- Roy MorganRoy Morgan is Australia’s best known and longest established market research company, with an unparalleled reputation for reliable, accurate, meaningful, revealing market research.
