Library guides: Tourism, hotel management and sport: Articles and journals

Articles and journals

Tourism, sport and hotel management databases

Australian Sports Directory
The Australian Sports Directory is a searchable database containing details of Australian national sporting organisations. The Directory searches a nightly extract from the Australian Sports Commission's 'Sport Database'.

SPORTDiscus With Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Full text journal articles for sports and sports medicine. Subjects covered include athletic training, coaching and education, consumer health, exercise science and fitness, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, occupational health and safety, orthopedics, physical education, physical therapy, sociology of sports, sport psychology, sports injuries and rehabilitation, sports management and sports sciences.
SPORTDiscus With Full Text provides full text dating back to 1985 for over 500 of the journals indexed in the SPORTDiscus database. Subject coverage includes physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, disabled athletes, sports facility design and management, intramural and school sports, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, and occupational health and therapy.

The index-only part of the database Includes over 750,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses; and reference to articles in 60 different languages.

MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimised for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
ABS Statistics
Australia's national statistical agency and an official source of independent, reliable information. Access to the full range of the Bureau's statistical and reference information, including census data from 1996 onwards.
Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Springer Nature Link
Access Springer journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. Over 440,000 entries pertaining to Business.
Springer is one of the world's leading publishers of scientific, technical, and medical (STM) books and journals. The book series Lecture Notes in Computer Science is also available on SpringerLink.
MOBILE ACCESS: Has an iPhone/iPad app available
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for leading Australian and New Zealand magazines, newspapers and newswires.