Journals and journal articles
Key journal article databases
Search topic specific databases to find journal articles on your research topic.
Human services and social work topics
- Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Find the details of literature relating to social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development. NOTE: Coverage - 1979 to present.
- Family and Society Collection (Informit)Covers research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. NOTE: Coverage - 1976 to present.
- Psycinfo (Ovid)Covers research in psychology - includes information from disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science and organizational behaviour.
- Social Science Database (ProQuest)Covers a wide range of disciplines within the social sciences including addiction studies, gerontology, econometrics, international relations, minority studies, urban studies, and more.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)Covers sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Topics include: Culture and social structure, demography and human biology, economic development, health, medicine, law, family and social welfare, studies in violence and power, social development, religion and science, substance abuse and addiction, women's studies, welfare services.
- Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) (Informit)
Covers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. Topics include current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
- Indigenous Collection (Informit)Covers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Includes anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights and literature. NOTE: Coverage - 1977 to present.
Additional health and medical topics
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost)
A comprehensive database of journal articles and other publications for nursing and allied health. Coverage includes nursing specialties, speech pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Find the details of journal articles and other publications across the biomedical and life sciences. MEDLINE is a subset of PubMed.
- Health Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for nursing, allied health and medicine. NOTE: Coverage - 1967 to present.
- EmbaseIncludes journals and other publications in the biomedical sciences.
- Consumer Health Database (ProQuest)
Consumer health resources including magazines, news and general medical journals. Includes topics such as women's health, food, sport injuries, eye care and dentistry.
Key journals
There are many journals related to Human services and social work available in the library collection. Listed below are some of the key sources of information for this discipline:
- Australian Social WorkJournal publishes research reflecting current thinking and trends in social work. It promotes the development of practice, policy and education.
- The British Journal of Social WorkThe leading academic social work journal in the UK. It covers every aspect of social work
- Children and Youth Services ReviewChildren and Youth Services Review (CYSR) is an interdisciplinary forum for critical scholarship regarding service programs for children and youth.
- Research on Social Work PracticeCovers the assessment methods and outcomes of social work practice. Intervention programs covered include behavior analysis and therapy; psychotherapy or counseling with individuals; case management; and education.
