Legislation
Legislation
- Federal Register of LegislationUse this resource to access authorised Commonwealth legislation including Acts, Regulations and Bills. Formerly called ComLaw.
- LawlexSearch all Australian legislation from one site. All principal legislation is categorised under the Lawlex subject index. This includes Acts, Bills, Regulations, Plans and By-laws. The subject index includes 29 categories with subcategories as relevant to those principal categories.
- Bills DigestA digest summarises and explains the context, purpose and structure of the Bill.
- Australian Parliamentary PapersParliamentary Papers collates key documents that have been tabled in the Australian Federal parliament.
- HansardThe Hansard is the report of the proceedings of the Australian parliament and its committees. This includes the Senate, House of Representatives, the Federation Chamber and all parliamentary committees.
- Federal Register of LegislationIncorporates all content previously published on ComLaw including the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments. Contains Commonwealth primary legislation, as well as other ancillary documents and information.
- Westlaw Australia
Provides Australian legal resources with selected New Zealand content. Case citator, commentary and authorised reports in a single search. With natural language search and a database of case law and journals, legislation and commentary to precedents, encyclopaedia and news.
- Lexis+
Access legal resources including law reports, unreported judgments and case citators. Includes Australian, New Zealand, Canadian and United Kingdom law.
- AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
Provides free Internet access to Australian legal materials. AustLII is one of the largest sources of legal materials on the net with over 500,000 searchable documents. The AustLII collection contains full text databases of most Australian decisions and legislation. Current databases include Commonwealth, ACT, NSW and SA legislation and regulations, most federal courts the High Court, Federal Court, Family Court, AAT etc. and many state courts and tribunals.
- Australasian Colonial Legal History LibraryThe Australasian Colonial Legal History Library provides free Internet access, via the AustLII website, to historical legal materials from Australia and New Zealand. This library contains full text resources of decisions and legislation from the colonial period in Australiasian history, and material from law journals and legal scholarshhip concerning this period. Catalog and web search facility is provided.
- Australian Federal Equal Opportunity Legislation (via iKnowConnect)A definitive reference source for legal practitioners specialising in the field of anti-discrimination and equal employment opportunity in Australia. It is also an invaluable tool for human resources personnel in all organisations.
- Federal Administrative Law (via Westlaw Australia)Federal Administrative Law is a guide to practice and procedure in the federal Administrative Appeals Tribunal, with relevant legislation together with detailed commentary and annotations covering administrative law and judicial review. The author, Dr Geoffrey Flick is a judge of the Federal Court of Australia. The commentary on the legislation and jurisdiction is complemented by a comprehensive suite of practice tools, including procedural notes, practice directions and overviews.
- LawNow Legislation (via LexisNexis)LawNow Legislation is a full text legislation service, including current, repealed and historical versions of Australian legislation.
- TimeBase LawOne
Provides point in time searching to full text legislation from nine Australian jurisdictions. It links through to amending and subordinate legislation, bills, explanatory memoranda and detailed legislative histories.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw
Provides access to cases, legislation, journals, books online, and news. Also includes some international primary and secondary material.
- Lexis+
Access legal resources including law reports, unreported judgments and case citators. Includes Australian, New Zealand, Canadian and United Kingdom law.
- Foreign & International Law Resources Database (via HeinOnline)FILRD contains full-text international law publications, including prominent Yearbooks from around the world and proceedings of the American Society of International Law. Also contains U.S. law digests on international law and judicial decisions of the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice.
- International Court of Justice
Contains the full text of official judgements, advisory opinions and orders of the Court as well as supporting materials on the Court, judges and international law.
- Foreign & International Law Resources Database (via HeinOnline)FILRD contains full-text international law publications, including prominent Yearbooks from around the world and proceedings of the American Society of International Law. Also contains U.S. law digests on international law and judicial decisions of the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice.
- World Constitutions Illustrated (via HeinOnline)Contains the current constitution for every country, constitutional histories, texts on constitutional law, links to scholarly articles about constitutional development, and a bibliography of selected constitutional books. Browsable by country or resource.
- World Legal Information Institute : WorldLII
Provides a single search facility for databases located on the following Legal Information Institutes: AustLII, BAILII, CanLII, HKLII, LII (Cornell); and PacLII.
- US Supreme Court Library (via HeinOnline)Searchable database which contains official U.S. Reports volumes, preliminary print volumes and slip opinions. Also includes periodicals and a number of historical treatises. Coverage is from Vol. 1 (1754)-v. 558 (2010)
- History of International Law (via HeinOnline)Searchable database which offers access to more than 500 titles and 550,000 pages, and is updated frequently, dating back to 1690 on international law subjects such as war & peace, the Nuremberg Trials, law of the sea, international arbitration, Hague Conferences and Conventions and much more.
- Queensland Legislation (OQPC)Contains collection of current legislation, superseded legislation, and Acts and regulations as made.
- Queensland Local LawsContains local government laws of Queensland.
- LawlexSearch all Australian legislation from one site.
- Queensland Law Reform CommissionThe Queensland Law Reform Commission is an independent statutory body established under the Law Reform Commission Act 1968.
- Supeme Court Library QueenslandThe Supreme Court Library was established in 1862 to serve the judiciary and the legal profession in the administration of justice in Queensland.
- Queensland Parliament reports and papersQueensland Parliament access to reports and papers.
- ACT Legislation RegisterThe laws in force in the ACT consist of the written law and various unwritten laws known as the principles and rules of common law and equity.
- LawlexSearch all Australian legislation from one site. All principal legislation is categorised under the Lawlex subject index. This includes Acts, Bills, Regulations, Plans and By-laws. The subject index includes 29 categories with subcategories as relevant to those principal categories.
- ACT Law Reform Advisory Council reportA collaborative venture between the ACT Government and the ANU College of Law.
- Australian Capital Territory Court LibraryThe Russell Fox Library offers an extensive collection of legal materials in both print and digital formats. These collections can be accessed at the Library. Please contact Library staff if you are interested in using our resources.
- Australian Capital Territory Parliament papersAustralian Capital Territory access to parliamentary documents.
- NSW LegislationOfficial legislation website for New South Wales. Contains Acts and delegated legislation including current and as passed versions.
- LawlexSearch all Australian legislation from one site. All principal legislation is categorised under the Lawlex subject index. This includes Acts, Bills, Regulations, Plans and By-laws. The subject index includes 29 categories with subcategories as relevant to those principal categories.
- New South Wales Law Reform CommissionLaw reform bodies comprehensively analyse the present law and make law reform proposals on areas of law in need of change.
- New South Wales Supreme Court LibraryThe Law Courts Library acts as a legal resource and information centre for approximately 100 Judges, Acting Judges, Associate Judges, Federal Magistrates and Registrars located in the Law Courts Building.
- New South Wales Parliament papersNew South Wales access to Parliamentary documents.
- Northern Territory Legislation (Office of the Parliamentary Counsel)This website contains current and historical consolidated Acts and subordinate legislation; details of Bills put forward for consideration by the Legislative Assembly; Acts resulting from these proposals and new and amending subordinate legislation.
- LawlexSearch all Australian legislation from one site. All principal legislation is categorised under the Lawlex subject index. This includes Acts, Bills, Regulations, Plans and By-laws. The subject index includes 29 categories with subcategories as relevant to those principal categories.
- NT Law Reform CommitteeThe Northern Territory Law Reform Committee is a non-statutory committee established to advise the Attorney-General on the reform of law in the Northern Territory (NT).
- Northern Territory Court LibraryThe Courts Library provides a service to the Justices of the Supreme Court and Judges of the Local Court, to the staff of the Courts, and to the private legal profession in the Northern Territory.
- Northern Territory Parliament papersNorthern Territory access to Parliamentary documents.
- South Australian LegislationThis website has been established to provide improved access to South Australian legislation and information about South Australian legislation, including information about the making, commencement, operation, variation or cessation of legislation and the making, commencement, operation, variation or cessation of other instruments made under legislation.
- LawlexSearch all Australian legislation from one site. All principal legislation is categorised under the Lawlex subject index. This includes Acts, Bills, Regulations, Plans and By-laws. The subject index includes 29 categories with subcategories as relevant to those principal categories.
- South Australian Law Reform InstituteThe South Australian Law Reform Institute, based at the Adelaide Law School, is formed by an agreement between the Attorney-General of South Australia, the University of Adelaide and the Law Society of South Australia.
- South Australia Court LibraryThe Library delivers a comprehensive range of information services and manages access to an extensive collection of legal research resources in print and digital format.
- Tasmanian LegislationThe Tasmanian Legislation website provides free public access to Tasmanian legislation.
- LawlexSearch all Australian legislation from one site. All principal legislation is categorised under the Lawlex subject index. This includes Acts, Bills, Regulations, Plans and By-laws. The subject index includes 29 categories with subcategories as relevant to those principal categories.
- Tasmania Law Reform InstituteThe Institute was established in 2001 by agreement between the State Government, the University of Tasmania and the Law Society.
- Tasmanian Parliament papersParliament of Tasmania access to Hansard, Bills and Papers.
- Victorian Legislation and Parliamentary DocumentsSince 1 January 2011 authorised electronic versions of legislation are produced for each new Act that is enacted and each new Statutory Rule that is made after that date. These authorised electronic versions are available from this website from the Statute Book repository.
- LawlexSearch all Australian legislation from one site. All principal legislation is categorised under the Lawlex subject index. This includes Acts, Bills, Regulations, Plans and By-laws. The subject index includes 29 categories with subcategories as relevant to those principal categories.
- Victorian Law Reform CommissionThe Victorian Law Reform Commission is an independent, government-funded organisation that develops, reviews and recommends reform of Victoria's state laws. The Commission has a charter to consult with the community and advise the Attorney-General on how to improve and update Victorian laws.
- Victoria Supreme Court LibraryLaw Library Victoria is an integral resource for the Victorian courts, VCAT and Victorian Bar, as well as for the legal profession and the community. It provides services that support the administration of justice in Victoria.
- Victoria Parliamentary papersThe database contains annual reports, parliamentary committee reports, and reports by independent officers of the parliament (like the Ombudsman and Auditor General) that have been tabled in Parliament since 1 January 2012.
- Western Australian LegislationDepartment of the Premier and Cabinet (WA)
- LawlexSearch all Australian legislation from one site. All principal legislation is categorised under the Lawlex subject index. This includes Acts, Bills, Regulations, Plans and By-laws. The subject index includes 29 categories with subcategories as relevant to those principal categories.
- Law Reform Commission of Western AustraliaThe Law Reform Commission of Western Australia assists in keeping the law up-to-date and relevant to the needs of society by making recommendations for the reform of areas of law referred to it by the Attorney-General.
