Want to improve your research skills?
Not sure how to search the library catalogue?
Information on searching the library catalogue effectively, using refinements and saving and emailing search results.
Get started
You can't get by without these databases
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost)
A comprehensive database of journal articles and other publications for nursing and allied health. Coverage includes nursing specialties, speech pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Find the details of journal articles and other publications across the biomedical and life sciences. MEDLINE is a subset of PubMed.
- EmbaseIncludes journals and other publications in the biomedical sciences.
- speechBITEspeechBITE™ is a database that provides open access to a catalogue of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy across the scope of Speech Pathology practice. This is an evidence based practice initiative between The University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
- Cochrane Library
Provides in-depth research summaries (systematic reviews), and research journal articles with a focus on evidence-based medicine and healthcare.
Search the library catalogue
Search for books, journal articles and other resources in the library catalogue.
Featured reference resources
To check a definition, clarify unfamiliar words, gather background information on your topic, and/or develop your understanding of its terminology, an excellent place to start is to use an authoritative online or hard copy dictionary, encyclopedia and other reference material.
The Gale encyclopedia of nursing and allied healthThis set provides more than 1,230 alphabetically arranged entries, of which about 100 are new, covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
