Library guides: Speech pathology: Journals and journal articles

Want to improve your research skills?

Prepare to Search

Have a look at research techniques to help you retrieve the best search results.

Searching Databases

Search for information

Information on searching the databases including refining results and saving and exporting results.

Journals and journal articles

Key journal databases

Health databases

Searching for journal articles in databases specialising in health sources helps you find resources focused on your discipline.

CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost)
A comprehensive database of journal articles and other publications for nursing and allied health. Coverage includes nursing specialties, speech pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Includes indexing for over 5,000 journals, with extensive full-text coverage available for over 1,200.

MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimized for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.

speechBITE
speechBITE™ is a database that provides open access to a catalogue of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy across the scope of Speech Pathology practice. This is an evidence based practice initiative between The University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.

PubMed
Search for journal articles and other publications relating to the biomedical and life sciences. Includes details of articles indexed in MEDLINE and selected full text articles from PubMed Central.
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), this database was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at Web sites of participating publishers.
MOBILE ACCESS: Connect to http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/
Psycinfo (Ovid)
A comprehensive database for psychology and behavioural science. Also covers other disciplines including artifical intelligence, business, education, medicine, law, linguistics, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, political science, psychology, social work, sociology and sports.
50 simultaneous user limit.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Find the details of journal articles and other publications across the biomedical and life sciences. MEDLINE is a subset of PubMed.
MEDLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is one of the foremost databases of biomedical literature covering virtually every area in the broad field of biomedicine. MEDLINE provides data on toxicology, nutrition, pharmacology, medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, medical engineering and pathology, communication disorders, population and reproductive biology.
MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimised for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
Embase
Includes journals and other publications in the biomedical sciences.
Linguistics Database (ProQuest)
Provides access to full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). All aspects of the study of language are covered, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Health Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for nursing, allied health and medicine. NOTE: Coverage - 1967 to present.
Informit Health Collection offers a collection of full text Australian journals, books, conference papers and reports, as well as full text indexing of material from New Zealand, Southeast Asia and the Pacific, on a range of allied health topics. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. NOTE: Coverage - 1977 to present.
Cochrane Library
Provides in-depth research summaries (systematic reviews), and research journal articles with a focus on evidence-based medicine and healthcare.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Methodology Register; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

View more health databases
more...less...
Nursing, medicine, dentistry and allied health

Multidisciplinary databases

Searching multidisciplinary databases helps you find journal articles published outside your discipline and are ideal for cross-disciplinary topic areas.

Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
ScienceDirect
Multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal article database covering research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences.

MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.

Key journals for speech pathology

There are many journals related to speech pathology available in the library collection. Listed below are some of the key sources of information for this discipline:

Brain and language
An interdisciplinary journal, Brain and Language focuses on the neurobiological mechanisms underlying human language.
International journal of speech-language pathology
Journal of speech, language, and hearing research