Preparing your thesis?
- Thesis preparationGet an overview for preparing your thesis.
Reports, grey literature and theses
Reports and grey literature
Grey literature is information which has been published outside of traditional channels and includes reports (from governmental organisations and other sources), conference proceedings and policy documents. There are many places to find these resources, including websites and searches.
Australian sites
Professional organisations
- Speech Pathology AustraliaThe national peak body for the speech pathology profession in Australia.communication and swallowing difficulties.
- Australian Aphasia AssociationA support and advocacy association for people with aphasia and their families, and the professionals who help them.
International sites
- ASHA Evidence MapsAmerican Speech-Language-Hearing Association evidence maps
- MedlinePlus - Speech and communication disordersMedlinePlus is a consumer-health site that brings together authoritative information from the (U.S.) National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organisations.
- National Center for Voice and SpeechThe NCVS is a multi-site research and teaching organization dedicated to studying the characteristics, limitations and enhancements of human voice and speech.
- World Health OrganizationWHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends. WHO is an excellent source of international and comparative statistics.
Key theses databases
Search these databases to find Australian and International theses.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses-Full Text (ProQuest)
Collects disserations and theses from numerous international univerisies across all disciplines.
- Trove
Digital collection of Australian information including newspapers, governement gazettes, maps, magazines, newsletters, books, pictures, photographs, archived websites, music, diaries, letters, personal archives and inteviews.
- DART-Europe E-theses PortalA discovery service for open access research theses awarded by European universities.
Other helpful theses databases
- DART-Europe E-theses PortalA discovery service for open access research theses awarded by European universities.
- Psycinfo (Ovid)
A comprehensive database for psychology and behavioural science. Also covers other disciplines including artifical intelligence, business, education, medicine, law, linguistics, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, political science, psychology, social work, sociology and sports.
- PhdData.orgThis site holds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world
- Thesis CanadaAccess online Canadian theses and dissertations from participating universities.
- Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)Searches e-theses from depositories around the world
- OAIsterOAIster serves as a search portal for digital collections of electronic books, online journals, audio and image files, and movies provided by the research library community.
