Library guides: Film and Screen Media: Databases, Journals and Journal Articles

Databases, Journals and Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Use the library catalogue to search for journal articles in our collection that can help broaden your knowledge of your topic. Search using keywords to find journal articles. On the search results page under 'Limit to' select the peer-review box to limit to peer reviewed journal articles.

Key Databases

Library databases contain scholarly literature such as journal articles, books and conference proceedings. Griffith subscribes to the databases listed below which are of particular relevance for Film and Screen media. Some are relevant across the whole discipline and some for specific subsets. There are also other databases that may include relevant information for your studies.

Art Full Text (EBSCOhost)
An international array of peer-selected publications. Subjects covered include: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video.
Taylor and Francis Journals
Journals and other publications for all disciplines published by Taylor and Francis.
Online access to journals published by the Taylor & Francis Group (including the imprints Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Carfax, Spon, Psychology Press and Garland Science). Coverage is mainly in the social sciences and humanities.
Mobile access: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
ProQuest
Multidisciplinary database with access to journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research and subject areas like The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, and the Social Sciences. Content is from all kinds of sources like Newpapers, Dissertations and Theses, Company annual reports and Snaphots. Proquest also includes the ProQuest Central database with over 11,000 scholarly journals.
MOBILE ACCESS FOR SELECTED DATABASES ONLY: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Offers multidisciplinary resources across business, health and medicine, history, literature and language, science and technology, social sciences and the arts.
JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.
Project MUSE
Collects peer reviewed humanities and social science resources primarily published by American Universities. Discipline coverage includes arts, social sciences, Asian studies, economics, film, theatre and performing arts, history, literary studies, music, philosophy and political science.
SAGE Journals Online
Access journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Griffith University subscribes to the SAGE Premier package, which gives access to most, though not all, of the journals on SAGE Journals Online. SAGE's publishing focus is mainly the social sciences and humanities.
Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.

ACM Digital Library
Journals and conference proceedings from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
Great for games, animation,virtual reality, interactive media.

Screen Studies (Bloomsbury)
Covers film history, theory and practice, including screenwriting, TV, animation and filmmaking technique. Contains screenplays, a timeline of film history, film stills, overview articles and eBooks.
Film and Media Collection (Bloomsbury)
The Film and Media collection spans feature films, experimental films, documentaries and interviews with film practitioners (Jane Campion, Milos Forman, Nicolas Roeg, Len Lye, Joseph Losey, Robert Altman, Lindsay Anderson, Agnes Varda, Alfred Hitchcock, the Maysles Brothers), and documentaries on sound and lighting, television editing and beyond. Highlights include ground-breaking avant-garde films by Fluxus, Chris Petit and others.

Key Journals for Film and Screen Media

Griffith Library has a large range of film and screen media journals and ejournals. To view the complete range of film and screen media related journals and ejournals please search the library catalogue and limit your search to journals/ejournals. Alternatively, if you want to check if Griffith holds a specific title consider using the search box above.

Historical journal of film, radio and television
The Historical Journal of Film, Radio and Television is an international and interdisciplinary journal concerned with the history of the audio-visual mass media from c.1900 to the present. It explores the institutional and ideological contexts of film, radio and television, analyses the evidence produced by the mass media for historians and social scientists, and considers the impact of mass communications on political, social and cultural history.
Journal of popular film and television
The Journal of Popular Film was founded in 1971 at the Center for Popular Culture Studies at Bowling Green State University. The primary purpose of the Journal of Popular Film and Television is to provide a representative cross section of critical-cultural perspectives and to broaden the existing literature to include the “public visions” of popular filmmakers and television showrunners, economic and industrial factors, and an emphasis on the complex role of audiences in the development of film and television as art forms and wide-reaching sociocultural forces.
Alphaville: Journal of film and screen media
Alphaville is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited and published by staff, PhD students and postdoctoral researchers in Film and Screen Media at University College Cork, Ireland. The journal is open access to make a full contribution to international debates in film and screen studies and beyond, and considers articles, book reviews and festival, exhibition and conference reports. We are interested in the interfaces between cinema and all new media, and aim to utilise the online platform to its full capacity.
Film International
Aims not to be just a scholarly journal, but a new breed of film magazine, mixing established academic film scholars (and other scholars) with renowned film journalists, trying to reach a wider circle of readers.
Film Criticism
Film Criticism is a peer-reviewed, online publication whose aim is to bring together scholarship in the field of cinema and media studies in order to present the finest work in this area, foregrounding textual criticism as a primary value. Our readership is academic, although we strive to publish material that is both accessible to undergraduates and engaging to established scholars.
Film - philosophy
Film-Philosophy is dedicated to the engagement between film studies and philosophy, exploring the ways in which films develop and contribute to philosophical discussion. The journal also provides a forum for the thoughtful re-evaluation of key aspects of both film studies and philosophy as academic disciplines.
Film and History
Film & History, which is a non-profit, peer-reviewed journal affiliated with the American Historical Association and has been published continuously since 1971, is published twice each year, in the summer and the winter.
Literature Film Quarterly
Literature/Film Quarterly is the longest standing international journal devoted to the study of adaptation. Founded in 1973 by Jim Welsh and Tom Erskine, the journal has for over forty years served as a forum for scholars and writers to discuss, debate, and articulate various ways of conceptualizing adaptation, whether in the more traditional considerations of transforming fiction and drama into film or in the more recent reflections on intertextuality, adaptation theory, and other related concerns.
New cinema: Journal of contemporary film
The journal aims to provide a platform for the study of new forms of cinematic practice and fresh approaches to cinemas hitherto neglected in western scholarship. It particularly welcomes scholarship that does not take existing paradigms and theoretical conceptualisations as given; rather, it anticipates submissions that are refreshing in approach and exhibit a willingness to tackle cinematic practices that are still in the process of development into something new.
New review of film and television studies
One of the leading media studies journals, New Review of Film and Television Studies publishes peer-reviewed research on the theory, history, aesthetics, and politics of expressive screen culture. Committed to a broad definition of film and television studies, NRFTS welcomes articles on digital, sound, video, and web-based media.

Key Online Resources

BrowZine Library
Use BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from your university
Trove
Search to explore collections from Australian libraries, museums, galleries and archives online.

What about searching Google Scholar and being asked to pay to view an article?

If you are prompted to pay to access an article, you may have found your way to a commercial publisher's site. It is wise to check if the library provides free access to that article via one of our journal or database subscriptions. You are able to do this in Google Scholar by setting up Full Text@Griffith links in Google Scholar.

The Full Text@Griffith links appear next to a result when that item is available in full text via our Griffith library subscriptions. If you are using the Griffith network to connect to Google Scholar, these links appear automatically. Alternatively, if you are accessing Google Scholar directly on the web, you can set up the Full Text@Griffith links.