Step 1: Choosing & finding music

Choosing music

Choosing music to perform is an exciting opportunity for you to discover what music the Library can offer in print and electronic formats.

As a starting point for choosing repertoire to perform, consult with your teacher, peers or the Australian Music Examinations Board (AMEB) Manual of Syllabuses available in the Library.

You are also encouraged to broaden your choices of repertoire by selecting music by Australian composers. Check out the Australian Music Centre (AMC) catalogue to discover new composers and compositions for your instrument/voice. Check the Griffith Library catalogue as well, as we have many scores from the AMC.

AMEB Manual of Syllabuses
Complete guide to taking AMEB practical and written music examinations. This collection of music syllabuses outlines the requirements for taking exams at all grade and diploma levels including the syllabus objectives, repertoire options, technical work and additional requirements.
Australian Music Centre catalogue
The AMC is the world's largest collection of sheet music by Australian composers, which you can purchase to own for performance and study. Almost 13,000 pieces of music by represented composers available for sale, over 7,000 of which include score or audio samples - allowing you to familiarise you with the music.

Finding music - print

Finding print music held by the Library is easy to do. Here are some tips to improve your searching in the Library catalogue.

Step 1: Search: Composers last name, title of music score or name of instrument eg. Mozart concertos piano

Step 2: Make note of the music score call number so you can find the score on the Library shelf. Things to note:

Music and books in the Library are grouped by subject, so all Mozart piano concertos will be located together
The Library has several music score formats - full, miniature, set and parts etc. which are located in different areas

Step 3: Ask for help from our friendly Library staff if you need assistance finding the music on the shelves.

Search tips:

Include composer's surname
Include the instrument (trumpet, violin, piano, voice type)
Use the plural of the music genre (sonatas, symphonies, concertos)
Use unique numbers. Enter the numbers only. If the score is Opus 101, just enter 101
Look for the subject links in the catalogue record to link you to other similar musical works

Griffith Library catalogue

Finding music - database

Music Online: Classical Scores Library is a database that has been purchased by the Library. It has an extensive range of music scores available across a wide range of instruments, ensembles and genres. Search or browse the database to locate music. Music scores can be printed in full but not downloaded.

International Music Score Library Project
Based on the wiki principle, IMSLP attempts to create a free virtual library containing all public domain musical scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge.
Music Online : Classical Scores Library (Alexander Street Press)
A collection of online classical music scores from major and lesser known composers covering many different instruments, ensembles and genres. Collection contains both in-copyright and public domain music scores.