Library guides: Urban and environmental planning: Key resources

You can't get by without...

Planning and Urban Design Standards
Planning and Urban Design Standards teaches students best practices and guidelines for urban planning and design. It has more than 1,400 informative illustrations and includes the latest rules of thumb for designing and evaluating any land-use scheme - from street plantings to new subdivisions.

Digital atlas of Australia
The Digital Atlas of Australia brings together trusted national data in a central platform. Using the Digital Atlas, you can explore, analyse and visualise data on Australia's: geography, people, economy, environment.

Nearmap
Nearmap consists of high quality aerial maps over Australian cities and towns that are updated monthly. Navigation and mapping tools allow you to see different perspectives and changes over time.
Note: First time users will need to verify their Griffith credentials.
1. Enter your Griffith email address.
2. You will be redirected to the Griffith Single Sign On page.
3. Log in with your Griffith credentials.
4. A confirmation displays that your account has been successfully created.
5. Click Go to my account to get started.
Visual Arts hub (Bloomsbury)
An interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields.
Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.

Griffith School of Environment: Urban and Environmental Planning
See a list of publications from Griffith's institutional repository, GRO.

Trove
Digital collection of Australian information including newspapers, governement gazettes, maps, magazines, newsletters, books, pictures, photographs, archived websites, music, diaries, letters, personal archives and inteviews.
Environmental Studies (Alexander Street Press)
The materials confront the most compelling questions faced in contemporary society by bringing together seminal documentary films and powerful footage from diverse sources around the globe. Fields of interest include: ecology, environmental economics, environmental planning, environmental policy and politics, environmental science, environmental sociology, natural resource management, pollution control and sustainable development.

Latest AHURI reports

The Australian Housing and Urban Research Institute (AHURI) is a national, not-for-profit organisation that funds, conducts and disseminates high quality research on housing, homelessness and cities.