Get started

Welcome to the World Music subject guide

Music Online : Smithsonian global sound for libraries (Alexander Street Press)
A streaming audio resource of the world's musical and aural traditions providing access to world music, music for children, aural biographies, memoirs, drama and poetry. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.

Anthropology (Alexander Street Press)
Comprehensive, multimedia resources for the study of anthropology, including the largest collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials.

Music Online : The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (Alexander Street Press)
Provides access to research on music cultures from around the world in 9 volumes and includes articles, images and audio recordings.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
Grove Music Online
An authorative resource for music research covering the history, theory and cultures of music from around the world. Contains detailed music definitions, performer and composer biographies including works produced, score, audio and image examples.
Updated frequently, Grove Music Online is an essential tool for anyone interested in researching, teaching, or just learning more about music. Written and edited by more than 9,000 subject experts, Grove’s 57,000 articles offer clear overviews of topics from a scholarly perspective and include extensive bibliographies, which are curated to guide users through existing scholarship. Grove’s 40,000 biographical articles provide life information and detailed works lists for composers, performers, and other important musical figures. Grove Music Online also features more than 6,000 images, musical examples, and links to audio and video examples.
6 simultaneous user limit.

Naxos Sheet Music
Provides digital sheet music in all classical genres, spanning music from Medieval to the 21st century and composers from Bach to Arvo Part. Music can be downloaded and printed, and many works can also be transposed into any key or clef within the database.

Find World music scores and more in the Naxos Sheet Music Library.

How: