A streaming audio resource of the world's musical and aural traditions providing access to world music, music for children, aural biographies, memoirs, drama and poetry. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. Included is the UNESCO Collection of Traditional Music which is located under Publishers, then Smithsonian Folkways Recordings/Audivis-UNESCO. Summary of licence
Provides streaming music, cover artwork, biographies and more. This resource concentrates on western classical music but contains content from other genres such as jazz, world, classic rock and nostalgia.
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. The Naxos Music Library offers complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 400 independent labels such as ARC, Berlin Classics, BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, CPO, EMI Classics, Erato, Haenssler Classic, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naïve, Naxos, Nimbus, Ondine, Teldec, Vanguard Classics, Virgin Classics and Warner Classics. Resources include music notes, cover artwork, tracklistings, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas, more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, glossary, guide to musical terms and work analyses. Streaming quality is 128 Kbps.
Provides streaming music, cover artwork, biographies and more. This resource concentrates on jazz music, featuring music and artists from labels such Blue Note Records and Fantasy eg. Herbie Handcokc, Dexter Gordon, Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter, Sonny Rollins, Thelonius Monk, John Coltrane, Miles Davis and more.
5 simultaneous user limit.
Naxos Music Library - App
Get the Naxos Music Library App
Naxos has the NML App for listening to music on your device. Refer to the instructions for "Student/Faculty of a subscribing university or an education institution" to get started.