Forensic chemistry and toxicology
Databases
- Agency for toxic substances and disease registry (ATSDR)A free web resource providing access to the following databases: ToxFAQs; Interaction Profiles; Toxicological profiles; Minimal risk levels; HazDat database. The mission of this agency is to serve the public by using the best science, taking responsible public health actions, and providing the trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and disease related to toxic substances.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)One of the foremost databases of biomedical literature covering virtually every area in the broad field of biomedicine, including toxicology and biochemistry.
- SciFinder-NSciFinder-N is a highly comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry and chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information.
- Australian Medicines Handbook
Australian drug reference resource including drug interactions, therapetic topics and drug calculators.
- PubChemPubChem is a collection of freely accessible chemical information; able to search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Contains chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, and literature citations.
Key resources
- Chemistry : the central scienceThis book is a comprehensive work introducing students to the basics of general chemistry, including topics on atoms, molecules, states of matter, substances, elements, compounds, mixtures, units of measurement, units of energy and conversion factors.
- Forensic chemistry handbookThe Forensic Chemistry Handbook focuses on topics in each of the major chemistry-related areas of forensic science.
- Forensic chemistry : fundamentals and applicationsPresents in-depth coverage of forensic chemistry including: illicit drugs, fibers, fire and explosive residues, soils, glass and paints, fingerprint recovery, firearms analysis, as well as chapters on the key tools of forensic science, microscopy and chemometrics.
Forensic toxicology : medico-legal case studiesExplains the organization of clinical laboratories, including sections on accreditation, quality control, method validation, and other critical topics. It describes the process of writing a toxicology report, and offers techniques for deposition and courtroom testimony.
Handbook of forensic toxicology for medical examinersA concise handbook referencing the most common toxic substances and their reported non-toxic, toxic, and lethal concentrations, making it an ideal text for quick reference in the lab or autopsy room.- Chemical analysis of firearms, ammunition, and gunshot residueThis book addresses forensic issues relating to the chemical aspects of firearms and ammunition, introducing their history and development, advances in their chemical analysis and new techniques on evidence collection and testing methods on various residues.
- Forensic toxicology: mechanisms and pathologyThis book provides an understanding of the mechanistic basis of the action of drugs and toxins, addressing their physiologic and pathologic consequences on the affected organ systems.
- Forensic applications of gas chromatographyA book covering the essentials of the theory and applications of gas chromatography to various realms of forensic science.
Data, images and maps
- Research Data Australia - forensic chemistryPre-searched results of datasets containing information related to forensic chemistry in Australia. Not all datasets are publicly available and require application to the institution to access.
