Library guides: Forensic Science: Forensic DNA profiling

Forensic DNA profiling

Oxford Scholarship Online. Biological Sciences
Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of Oxford books in many areas of biology; biochemistry; molecular biology; evolutionary biology; genetics; biomathematics, statistics and data analysis; complexity studies; microbiology and biotechnology.
Nature Journals Online
Access journals, news and other resources across a wide range of scientific fields. Includes the journal Nature.

PLoS : Public Library of Science
PloS is a non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. Papers published in these journals are peer reviewed.
PloS is a non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. The PLoS journals are run by professional editors, trained scientists, and physicians, in close collaboration with editorial boards. Papers published in these journals are peer reviewed using a uniquely consultative process between editors and experts in their field, and are produced to the highest editorial and production standards.
PubMed
Search for journal articles and other publications relating to the biomedical and life sciences. Includes details of articles indexed in MEDLINE and selected full text articles from PubMed Central.
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), this database was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at Web sites of participating publishers.
MOBILE ACCESS: Connect to http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/

Fundamentals of forensic DNA typing
Examines the methods of current forensic DNA typing, the process of DNA testing from collection of samples through DNA extraction, DNA quantitation, DNA amplification, and statistical interpretation. It discusses the use of DNA databases and ethical concerns.
Forensic DNA evidence interpretation
This book emphasizes the interpretation of test results and provides the necessary formulae in an easily accessible manner.
Advanced topics in forensic dna typing : interpretation
This work provides forensic DNA analysts coverage of DNA mixture interpretation and statistical analysis of DNA evidence, with worked mixture examples illustrating the impact of different statistical approaches for reporting results.
Statistical analysis in forensic science : evidential value of multivariate physicochemical data
This book provides a collection of recent approaches to the determination of likelihood ratios and describes suitable software, with documentation and examples of their use in practice.
Forensic DNA profiling : A practical guide to assigning likelihood ratios
A hands-on step-by-step guide in how to interpret DNA mixtures, how to assign a likelihood ratio, and how to use the subsequent likelihood ratio when reporting interpretation conclusions.

NCBI GenBank
The NIH genetic sequence database is an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. The database is designed for the scientific community to provide and encourage access to the most up-to-date and comprehensive DNA sequence information.
Pixabay images
Images and videos of DNA free for users to download and use for projects and assignments.