Research data

Data on a wide range of health and welfare topics, including expenditure, hospitals, disease, injury, mental health, ageing, homelessness, housing, disability, child protection and the needs of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. Some restricted data is available to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.

Major longitudinal dataset on the health and lifestyles of a large group of Australian males. The study follows participants over time and provide an important resource for improving the health of Australian men and boys. Controlled access be available to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.

Longitudinal survey of three different aged cohorts of Australian women. The study examines demographic, social, physical, psychological, and behavioural variables and their effect on major aspects of women’s health and well-being and health service use. Controlled access available to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.

A catalogue of Australian health datasets including clinical trial data collected by universities, medical research institutes, clinical trials networks, and health services. Includes study protocols and data dictionaries. Access for researchers via application, terms and conditions.

Includes MBS, PBS, Immunisation, Organ donor, Practice Incentives Programme, general practice statistical data. Data available via spreadsheets, and charting tool. Researchers can also request unit records, consent studies, and linked data by application and review with associated costs.

MABEL is a major longitudinal survey of doctors. Access by application for researchers with quantitative skills, with terms and conditions.

An archive of human femoral bone tissue gathered from persons who died suddenly and unexpectedly without any major predisposing medical conditions or long periods of immobilisation. Access to researchers with ethical approval, by request, with terms and conditions.

Statistics on the health of Queenslanders and their use of health services. Data collections include, Financial and Residential Activity Collection, Monthly Activity Collection, Perinatal Data Collection, Queensland Hospital Admitted Patient Data Collection, Queensland Health Non-Admitted Patient Data Collection. Access to researchers with ethical approval, by application and considered on a case-by-case basis.

(VARDC) offers Australian veterinary and animal science researchers streamlined access to research data, tools and opportunities.

The BV-BRC combines the data and tools from the PATRIC, the bacterial BRC, and IRD and ViPR, the viral BRCs. Search, share and analyse data in a private workspace.

The repository includes large plasma, serum and whole blood collections from epidemiologic studies conducted in blood donors and transfusion-recipients, along with individual level data on hundreds of thousands of participants from institute-supported clinical trials and observational studies. Access to international researchers with ethical approval, by application and review.

NIH service which de-identifies and host a large archive of medical images of cancer accessible for public download.

A resource for researchers to store de-identified data and to access data and associated biospecimens from NICHD supported studies for use in secondary research. Access by registration with terms and conditions. NICHD DASH Data Use Agreement signed by the Data Recipient and the Authorized Organization Representative (AOR) from your institution.

Prototype biomedical data search engine. One-stop registry for searching among millions of biomedical datasets across many repositories.

A bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug data with comprehensive drug target information. Includes drug entries such as approved small molecule drugs, approved biologics (proteins, peptides, vaccines, and allergenics), nutraceuticals and experimental (discovery-phase) drugs. Non-redundant protein (i.e. drug target/enzyme/transporter/carrier) sequences are linked to the drug entries.

Open-access repository for scattering data from experimental particle physics. It currently comprises the data points from plots and tables related to several thousand publications including those from the Large Hadron Collider (LHC).

Provides detailed mortality and population data to researchers, students, journalists, policy analysts, and others interested in the history of human longevity. It contains original calculations of death rates and life tables for national populations as well as the input data. User registration required.

An international non-governmental organisation collecting, curating, interpreting and sharing information on genetic variation. The Australian Node is a national data sharing facility for improving clinical genetic testing services and supporting medical research. It consists of a secure, digital data repository and a suite of collection tools.

Public repository of image datasets from published scientific studies. Submit, search and access high-quality bio-image data.

Open access platform to share research data, study registrations and an integrated analysis environment using Galaxy. Bioinformatics for the future of immunology.

assembles clinical, laboratory and epidemiological data on a collaborative platform to be shared with the research and humanitarian communities.

Over 1200 resting state fMRI (R-fMRI) datasets collected from 33 sites around the world for the neuroimaging community. Local ethical approval for data-
sharing is required. Access via registration.

NDA provides infrastructure for sharing research data, tools, methods, and analyses enabling collaborative science and discovery. De-identified human subjects data, harmonized to a common standard, are available to qualified researchers. Summary data are available to all.

Search over 77,000 biomedical datasets from various repositories. Discover, retrieve and connect with datasets to accelerate scientific research.

NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse. Also included are resources that serve as a portal for information about biomedical data and information sharing systems. The table may be searched using keywords so that you can find repositories more relevant to your data.

Provides data on the health status of the population including obesity, suicide & life expectancy, health care financing & resources, social protection, health care utilization, the pharmaceutical market, long-term care resources & utilization, non-medical determinants of health, expenditure on health, demographic & economic references, with coverage being provided for OECD and selected non-OECD countries as far back as 1960.

a collaboration between Open Knowledge International and Dr Ben Goldacre from the University of Oxford DataLab. It aims to locate, match, and share all publicly accessible data and documents, on all trials conducted, on all medicines and other treatments, globally.

Data and software for Complex Physiologic Signals. Includes an extensive archive of well-characterized digital recordings of physiologic signals, time series, and related data for use by the biomedical research community. Also a library of software or physiologic signal processing and analysis and more, along with tutorials and user materials.

A free digital library-laboratory, operated by Cancer's Life Sciences Consortium (LSC), providing one place where the research community can broadly share, integrate and analyse historical, patient-level data from academic and industry phase III cancer clinical trials. Access is provided to bona fide researchers via online application, data use agreement and review.

For storing and sharing medical image research data securely. SICAS offers a unique combination of competence in acquiring and storing medical images, in processing and visualising data for research and applications in medicine.

Research infrastructure for studying the effects of health, social, economic and environmental policies over the life-course of European citizens and beyond. From 2004 until today, 530,000 in-depth interviews with 140,000 people aged 50 or older from 28 European countries and Israel have been conducted. Researchers with an affliation with a university can apply for access to datasets.

A free platform for extracting, archiving, and sharing data during systematic reviews and accessing shared data related to systematic reviews.

A global data-sharing and analytics platform to serve all elements of the international research community. Data from thousands of clinical trials from around the world. Access to research teams via application, review and agreement.

Data on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, child nutrition & health, maternal & reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water & sanitation, non communicable diseases & risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence & injuries, equity among others. Query by API is available, with output files in csv, SpreadsheetML and json format.

A collaborative platform generating resources and evidence to inform the malaria community on the factors affecting the efficacy of antimalarial medicines. The platform includes data & analytical tools. Access either open or by application and agreement.

Facilitates access to participant-level clinical research data and/or comprehensive reports of clinical research, such as full Clinical Study Reports [CSRs], with the aim of promoting scientific research that may advance science or lead to improvements in individual and public health and healthcare delivery. Access to researchers by application and review.