Research data

ATSIDA is a specialised, trusted research data management facility for Australian Indigenous research data. It is a thematic archive with datasets stored securely at the ANU's Computational Infrastructure (NCI). Data is available for further research, under appropriate protocols, so as to reduce the response burden on Australian Indigenous communities while enabling informed analysis and commentary in areas of national priority.

Microdata ranging from aggregated data to Confidentialised Unit Record Files (CURFs) is available. Different platforms and formats are available, including Table builder, an online tool for creating tables, graphs and maps, Microdata download, and DataLab a secure ABS onsite solution for high-end users who want to undertake interactive, complex analysis of restricted data. Includes data from ABS surveys and administrative data collected by other organisations. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions. Contact the Library for a referral.

The ADA Census Dataverse includes Australian Census 1986 data collection and Historical Census and Colonial Data Archive (HCCDA) of publications and reports covering the period from 1833 to 1901. Data tables are available for public download and full archival set including scanned originals by request.

Customized subsets of data produced from Griffith University's Prosecution Project. Transcribed court records have been sourced from around Australia. These include Supreme Courts, Police Gazettes and Convict Registers. Access the full dataset from the Prosecutions Project at: https://prosecutionproject.griffith.edu.au/

Data from the scientific study of the social attitudes, beliefs and opinions of Australians, how they change over time, and how they compare with other societies. The Australian component of the International Social Survey Project (ISSP). Developed by ACSPR, a consortium of universities and government research agencies, including Griffith University.

The longitudinal study follows the settlement journey of 2,399 humanitarian migrants and their families who arrived in Australia between April and October 2013. It focuses on their participation in society, their general health and happiness and investigating factors that may facilitate positive outcomes. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.

Follows the development of around 1,700 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children and their families across urban, regional and remote Australia. The study provides a data resource that can be drawn on by government, researchers, service providers, parents and communities. It is one of the largest longitudinal studies of Indigenous people worldwide. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.

A major study following the development of 10,000 children and families across Australia. It tracks the children’s development and life course trajectories in today’s economic, social and political environment. Collection commenced in 2004 with two cohorts of 5,000 children each, aged 4 - 5 and 0 - 1 years. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.

A major, longitudinal study of Australian households which commenced in 2001, collecting data on economic and personal well-being, labour market dynamics and family life. HILDA data are available via general release or restricted release. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.

Key datasets relevant to Indigenous justice, from administrative data from government agencies. Data collections can be at the population level and may be used to establish baseline information about demographic and socioeconomic characteristics and to monitor changes over time or may be at the program level.

LSAY uses large, nationally representative samples of students at school to collect information about education, training, work, financial matters, health, social activities, and related issues. LSAY began in 1995 and to date, six cohorts have commenced the survey program. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.

MABEL is a major longitudinal survey of doctors. Access by application for researchers with quantitative skills, with terms and conditions.

MADIP is a partnership among six Australian Government agencies to combine longitudinal information on healthcare, education, government payments and personal income tax with population demographics to create a comprehensive social picture of Australia. Access to authorised researchers via ABS secure DataLab. Contact Griffith Office for Research to apply for access.

Contains primary source documentation that enhances a greater understanding and analysis of the development of urban centers and of the major restructuring of society that took place during the Industrial Revolution. The archive is composed of a number of individual collections, drawn together from a variety of sources.

A data registry of social science data archives across Europe. The CESSDA Data Catalogue is a platform for researchers wanting to find and reuse social science and humanities research data.

Share and access data and written works in order to advance policy- and practice-relevant knowledge about student learning, students' experience of school, and learning environments.

Provides data from studies across the social science disciplines with SAS, SPSS, Stata, R, and ASCII files available for download. Online statistical analysis is available for some studies. Restricted data may be available to researchers by application with terms and conditions.

Coverage 1800s. Includes monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering key issues of economics, world politics.

Datasets span various social science disciplines, topics and countries. Primarily quantitative data with some qualitative datasets. Users can examine and compare variables and questions across studies or series. Most data holdings are publicly available. Restricted data is available to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.

Provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyse individuals within family and community contexts.

Public polling and demographic research data available for secondary analysis after a period of time. Survey datasets are cleaned and de-identified. Most files are provided in SPSS .sav format, which can be converted for use with other types of statistical software. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.

A dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences and related disciplines.

Brings together monograph and manuscript collections into a single, searchable environment to help scholars examine religion’s influences on the shaping of politics, law, economics, and social mores.

The academic industry initiative seeks to provide privacy-preserving access to the largest and most comprehensive information base used to study social media, and some of the most extensive data ever used to study human behavior in general. Data access to eligible researchers by application and review

SEDAC is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS). Focusing on human interactions in the environment, SEDAC develops and operates applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data.

Principal repository for economic, population, and social research data in the UK. Comprises nationally and internationally significant datasets such as the Census, Understanding Society, the UK Cohort Studies, the Labour Force Surveys, the Family Resources Surveys and many others.

Longitudinal collection of crime and criminal justice statistics with waves commencing 1970. Available for online exploration by geography and demography. It provides an overview of trends and interrelationships between various parts of the criminal justice system to promote informed decision-making in administration, nationally and internationally.

Primary source collection focusing on the 19th century, gender, and class through a transnational perspective.

Nationally representative surveys conducted in almost 100 countries which contain almost 90 percent of the world’s population, using a common questionnaire. A cross-national, time series investigation of human beliefs and values. Covers full range of global variations, from poor to rich countries, in all of the world’s major cultural zones. Data is available in several file formats (SPSS, Stata, Ascii text, Excel).