Research data

Links observational data sets and theoretical infrastructure capabilities enabling new approaches to astronomical research. It includes datasets from Theoretical Astrophysical Observatory, SkyMapper, Anglo-Australian Telescope (AAT) Node of the All-Sky Virtual Observatory (ASVO), Murchison Widefield Array, CSIRO ASKAP Science Data Archive.

Australian biodiversity data collected by institutions, individual collectors and community groups. Tools include a spatial portal to map, visualise and analyse relationships between species, location and environment and a data collection tool for biodiversity science. It is the Australian node of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF).

Data, visualisation and analytics for geoscience. Includes geological models from around Australia in 3D, a data discovery portal, AusPass service for acquisition, management and distribution of passive seismological data, computational and HPC tools and more.

An open-source, harmonized database of Australian plant trait data. It synthesises data on nearly 500 traits across more than 30,000 taxa from field campaigns, published literature, taxonomic monographs, and individual taxon descriptions.

Data includes, temporal, spatial, biological and physical data on biodiversity, sea ice, weather and environment, species, state of the environment. GIS datasets, satellite images, maps and charts, track and underway data are also available.

The AODN Portal provides access to all available Australian marine and climate science data and provides the primary access to IMOS ocean current data including access to the IMOS metadata.

An indexing service for aggregating, discovering, filtering and accessing complex life science data. Includes reference genome assemblies, genome annotations, population and variant sets, DNA barcodes, coding and non-coding DNA sequences and raw genomics data.

Portal to access data, maps and images of nationally significant data assets across a broad range of sciences from the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation. Users can request access to the data by registering their email address.

Access datasets from Atlas of Living Australia, the Global Biodiversity Information Facility, the Australian Ecological Knowledge and Observation System, and the Ocean Bio-geographic Information System database, then run experiments, use models and visualize results. Griffith University is a partner in the platform.

Includes data on climatology, meteorology, atmosphere, environment, imagery, oceans and geoscientific information.

Online data and tools including earthquake mapping, airborne surveys, Geochron delivery, Australian flood risk information portal, rock properties explorer, interactive maps, 3D models and more.

A distributed geospatial data server exposing OGC services developed at the NCI. It provides a high performance service for environmental and geophysical data based on data aggregation, data cubes and coordinate transformations. Has the ability for users to interact with entire datasets and the information they contain using standard community protocols. Uses protocols used by geospatial community enabling many client software services can access data via GSKY.

Data, tools and training for researchers from a community of Australian organisations. Includes repositories which contain information and audio recording annotations for fauna that make human-audible sounds.

Integrated maps and data on sea level rise & coastal Inundation;satellite coastal & marine data;coastal geomorphology; from various government and scientific sources and available to researchers and local government and community groups.

Public access to spatial and associated data. Data available in selected formats, including map coverage data, image data and text file data. Includes: Regional ecosystem series, QLD mining and exploration tenure series, QLD geology series and QLD globe and live services. Users require GIS software to access the data. Freely available and copyright restrictions apply. Licensing arrangements vary for individual resources.

Earth observation data and products that describe land-surface and environmental characteristics derived using satellite and airborne imagery. The AusCover facility provides access to remote sensing data and derived products, associated with land-surface characteristics and biophysical variables derived from satellite and airborne imagery.

Information and research data on nationally significant sectors and regions that are most vulnerable to climate change threats. Utilise adaptation decision support tools and interactive climate model visualisations.

Australia’s land ecosystem observatory. TERN data providers observe, measure and record critical terrestrial ecosystem parameters and conditions for Australia over time from continental scale to field sites at hundreds of locations. The information is standardised, integrated and transformed into model-ready data, enabling researchers to discern and interpret changes in land ecosystems.

Serves many of NCI’s open data collections at the file level, as well as some aggregations. It provides many different types of services to allow individual files to be selected, as well as more advanced services such as OpenDAP, NetCDF subsetting, OGC WCS and WMS. The THREDDS server is programmatically accessible, which is how many advanced tools and portals use our service.

A database of genetic and molecular biology data for Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant. Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community.

Provides discovery, access and links to Astronomy, Astrophysics, and Physics research including publications, astronomical object information, data catalogs and data sets. Search, metrics, export and libraries APIs are available.

Biomedical interaction repository. Index searches publications for protein and genetic interactions, chemical interactions and post translational modifications from major model organism species.

BMRB collects, annotates, archives, and disseminates spectral and quantitative data derived from NMR spectroscopic investigations of biological macromolecules and metabolites.

BioStudies database holds descriptions of biological studies, links to data from these studies in other databases at EMBL-EBI or outside, as well as data that do not fit in the structured archives at EMBL-EBI. The database can accept a wide range of types of studies described via a simple format. It also enables manuscript authors to submit supplementary information and link to it from the publication.

Global repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures. Containing structures from x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses, it provides accurate 3D structures, chemical representations, as well as bibliographic, chemical and physical property information.

A data sharing portal designed to facilitate information sharing across the international biomedical nanotechnology research community to expedite and validate the use of nanotechnology in biomedicine.

CAIDA operates active and passive measurement infrastructures enabling visibility into global Internet behavior. Datasets resulting from the measurements are curated, archived and shared along with multiple derivative datasets. Access to restricted data by application with terms and conditions.

Develop, share, publish, and download code through a web browser, eliminating the need to install software on personal computers. The platform includes executable, cloud-based computational environment to preserve, publish & reproduce research code & data.

Access to data from Coherent X-ray Imaging (CXI) experiments,

This data portal, the Sentinel Australasia Regional Access (SARA), provides fast access to the data cache on NCI for selected datasets, particularly for the Australasian region, which are a replica from the master site maintained in Europe.

Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers.

Data and results from studies that have investigated the interaction of genotype and phenotype in Humans. Some data access via application.

Catalogs experimentally determined interactions between proteins. It combines information from a variety of sources to create a single, consistent set of protein-protein interactions. Data is curated, both, manually by expert curators and also automatically using computational approaches.

Prototype biomedical data search engine. One-stop registry for searching among millions of biomedical datasets across many repositories.

A federated data network providing access to and preserves data about, life on Earth and the environment. Search records from over 42 data centers including TERN, Artic Data Centre, EDAC, Pangea and more. Metadata is open and provides links to originating repositories for access and conditions.

World's largest collection of remotely sensed images of the Earth’s land surface and the primary source of Landsat satellite images and data products. Includes NASA’s Land Processes Distributed Active Archive Center and EarthExplorer.

Global resource for 3-Dimensional Electron Microscopy (3DEM) structure data archiving and retrieval, software tools, data standards, validation methods, and community challenges for the scientific community.

A set of European data resources of fundamental importance to the wider life-science community and the long-term preservation of biological data. Link through to 20 scientific databanks.

Environmental and ecological data packages contributed by a number of participating organizations to support high-level analysis and synthesis of complex ecosystem data across the science-policy-management continuum, which in turn helps advance ecosystem research.

Find and use UK datasets concerned with the terrestrial and freshwater sciences.

Up-to-date molecular data resources. Developed in worldwide collaboration, you share can data, perform complex queries and analyse the results in different ways. Users can work locally by downloading data and software, or use web services to access resources programmatically with APIs.

Service for permanent archiving and sharing of personally identifiable genetic, phenotypic, and clinical data generated for the purposes of biomedical research projects or in the context of research-focused healthcare systems. Data access via registration and in some cases requires additional approvals or agreements.

a database of flow cytometry experiments where you can query and download data collected and annotated according to the MIFlowCyt standard. It is primarily used as a data deposition place for experimental findings published in peer-reviewed journals in the flow cytometry field.

Search for genes, alleles, aberrations and other genetic objects, phenotypes, sequences, stocks, images and movies, controlled terms, and Drosophila.

Public functional genomics data repository supporting MIAME-compliant data submissions. Array- and sequence-based data are accepted. Tools are provided to help users query and download experiments and curated gene expression profiles.

Utilizes information obtained by GPM servers to help validate peptide MS/MS spectra as well as protein coverage patterns. This database is integrated with GPM server pages, allowing users to quickly compare their experimental results with the best results that have been previously observed by users of the machines.

Database containing phenotypes from RNA interference (RNAi) screens in Drosophila and Homo sapiens. In addition, the database provides an updated resource of RNAi reagents and their predicted quality.

Manage, version, share and publish Neuroscience research data. Access secure repositories, collaborate with colleagues, make data public and citeable.

GigaDB is a data repository supporting scientific publications in the Life/Biomedical Sciences domain.

Largest host and repository of source code in the world. Provides hosting for software development version control. It offers distributed version control and source code management (SCM) functionality of Git with more features.

Repository of fish image annotation, stereo calibration and associated information, provides the ability to upload data with flexible file formats. Explore, query and share this data with other users across different projects and institutions. Created by University of Western Australia.

An international network and research infrastructure funded by governments providing open access to data about all types of life on Earth. CSIRO manages Australian node of the platform. A spectrum of data from historical, museum specimens to geotagged smartphone images for access and use.

Computational and Informatics Resources for Glycoscience. GlyGen retrieves information from multiple international data sources and integrates and harmonizes this data. This web portal allows exploring this data and performing unique searches across mulitple sources.

CUAHSI's online collaboration environment for sharing hydrology related data, models, and code.

Free, open source database system and analysis tools for molecular interaction data. All interactions are derived from literature curation or direct user submissions.

Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

A spectrum of data raw reads, through alignments and assemblies to functional annotation, enriched with contextual information relating to samples and experimental configurations. The database collaboration operates between DDBJ, EMBL-EBI and NCBI.

System for quantitative KInetic MOdels of biological SYStems. Includes shared experimental data and tools for the systems biology community when doing experimental and computational research.

International repository intended to facilitate ecological and environmental research. acceps all environmental or ecological related data and publishes datasets with Digital Object Identifiers.

A comprehensive quality-controlled database of oceanographic data obtained in Polar Regions from instrumented marine mammals. Includes databases of quality-controlled CTD profiles, submesoscale-resolving high density CTD data and high spatial density temperature/light data.

Share and access data, search identifications, reanalyse Spectra, undertake results comparisons, share reanalyses, use MassIVE.quant interactive virtual environment and acess CoronaMassKB.

The Metabolomics Workbench serves as a national and international repository for metabolomics data and metadata and provides analysis tools and access to metabolite standards, protocols, tutorials, training, and more. Find metabolomics data for small and large studies on cells, tissues and organisms.

International database resource for the laboratory mouse, providing integrated genetic, genomic, and biological data to facilitate the study of human health and disease.

Data discovery and access to more than 33,000 Earth observation data collections from NASA’s EOSDIS, U.S. and international partner agencies.

Open-data, including source code, APIs, visualizations and more. Explore datasets by domain, field of science, or mission.

Bioinformatics and Databases developed by NCFG available to researchers. Managed by Harvard University and funded by NIH.

The NIH genetic sequence database is an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. The database is designed for the scientific community to provide and encourage access to the most up-to-date and comprehensive DNA sequence information.

The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.

The NCI ESGF node currently hosts Australian produced data for the CMIP5, CMIP6, CORDEX, GeoMIP and PMIP3 data collections. The EGSF is designed to integrate and interoperate with other software developed by the ESGF collaborators: such as NASA, NOAA, ESIP, and the European IS-ENES.

The NDEx Project provides an open-source framework where scientists and organizations can share, store, manipulate, and publish biological network knowledge.

Collection of publicly accessible 3D neuronal reconstructions and associated metadata. Centrally curated inventorys of digitally reconstructed neurons and glia associated with peer-reviewed publications. Contributions from over 900 laboratories worldwide and updated as new morphological reconstructions are collected, published, and shared.

A global open-access data and information platform on marine biodiversity for science, conservation and sustainable development. Search and map datasets by species name, higher taxonomic level, geographic area, depth, time and environmental parameters.

To communicate risk more effectively to decision-makers in planning, preparedness and response activities, OpenDRI works with governments and partners to develop InaSAFE software. By combining data from scientists, local governments and communities, InaSAFE provides insights into the likely effects of disaster events.

Free and open platform for validating and sharing BIDS-compliant MRI, PET, MEG, EEG, and iEEG data. Interact via search and browse, command interface, API and Git.

NCI publishes Optical Astronomy datasets using IVOA compliant services, such as an installation of the CSIRO ASKAP Data Archive TAP data service.

Open data services for a comprehensive archive of terrestrial biogeochemistry and ecological dynamics observations and models to facilitate research, education, and decision-making in support of NASA's Earth Science.

Earth and environmental science georeferenced data from earth system research.

a multi-organism, publicly accessible compendium of peptides identified in a large set of tandem mass spectrometry proteomics experiments. Mass spectrometer output files are collected for human, mouse, yeast, and several other organisms, and searched using the latest search engines and protein sequences.

A collection of data and tools from Sánchez lab planarian publications including, Gene search, BLAST, heat map generator, search Neoblast Clusters, Rosetta Stone transcript mapper and more.

A globally coordinated standard data submission and dissemination pipelines involving the main proteomics repositories, and to encourage open data policies in the field.

PubChem is a collection of freely accessible chemical information; able to search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Contains chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, and literature citations.

Genetic, genomic, phenotype, and disease-related data generated from rat research. Also includes a large body of structured and standardized data for ten species (rat, mouse, human, chinchilla, bonobo, 13-lined ground squirrel, dog, pig, green monkey/vervet and naked mole-rat).

Open scientific data repository in the marine sciences field. Provides DOIs, citation information and enables links to related publications.

Links to Database of Genomic Variants Archive (DGVa), dbSNP, dbVar, DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ), EBI Metagenomics, EMBL Nucleotide Sequence Database (ENA), European Variation Archive (EVA), GenBank, miRBase, NCBI Sequence Read Archive (SRA), NCBI Trace Archive, Uniprot repositories recommended by PLoS.

High-quality simulation tools, accurate models for biomedical research. Free project-hosting platform for the biomedical computation community. Connects researchers and projects to others working at the intersection of biology, medicine, and computations.

Data from the Skymapper telescope is available via three methods. SkyMapper Southern Survey data — a simple cone search of the catalogues around a given sky position, arbitrary queries of the full database and external tables using ADQL, and reduced image cutouts with WCS around a given sky position.

Platform to submit and search functional enzymology data sets to support journal publications, supported by the Beilstein-Institut.

Hosts the SIMBAD astronomical database, the reference database for the identification of astronomical objects; VizieR, the catalogue service for the CDS reference collection of astronomical catalogues and tables published in academic journals; and the Aladin interactive software sky atlas for access, visualization and analysis of astronomical images, surveys, catalogues, databases and related data.

Access to World Data Centre for Solar-Terrestrial Physics - (WDC Data), Solar Archives, Virtual Library of Solar-Terrestrial Physics and Chemistry, Instrument Locator, Space Environment Database and Analysis Tools and the Ditton Park Archive.

A federated database providing access to a broad range of atomic and molecular (A&M) data from worldwide consortium of organisations. The VAMDC Portal provides a web service to convert a XSAMS file containing spectroscopic molecular data into a file in HITRAN format.

Povides access to and preservation of climate model data. Hosted and maintained by the German Climate Computing Center (DKRZ) in Hamburg, Germany.

An authoritative classification and catalogue of marine organisms, including information on synonym.

A single repository of information about the 3D structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.

Access information concerning the genetics, genomics and biology of C. elegans and related nematodes. Supported by international consortium of biologists and computer scientists.

A comprehensive, integrated resource with access to genomic, expression and functional data available from Xenopus (clawed frog), a modle organism used in research. It integrates all the diverse biological, genomic, genotype and phenotype data available from Xenopus research for research and learning.

Database of genetic and genomic data for the zebrafish (Danio rerio) as a model organism. ZFIN provides a wide array of expertly curated, organized and cross-referenced zebrafish research data.