Composer collected editions
Composer collected editions
The Library holds several Collected Editions (Gesamtausgabe/Complete Editions/Complete Works) of particular composers. Collected Editions are mainly used for research rather than performance. Collected Editions are very useful as a source for locating a work not available as individual score in the library collection.
What are collected editions?
Musicologists through extensive research have compiled the works of composers like Mozart, Bach, Beethoven and others into multi-volume sets. Collected Editions are authoratitive collections of the complete works of a specific composer and present the original (urtext vesion) or first known version of a manuscript thereby showcasing the composer's original intentions.
Where are they located in the Library?
Collected Editions in the Library are found at the call number: Ref M3 browse to find your composer.
Alternatively you can find Collected Editions by searching the Library catalogue for the composers last name and the keyword "works".
How to use the collected editions?
Grove Music Online makes using of Collected Editions easy, by providing a detailed list of the complete works of a composer, with information on how to find an individual work in the multi-volume set. Access Grove Music Online from Dictionaries and Encyclopedia section.
Here is an example from Grove Music Online, listing the songs of Franz Schubert and data relating to the name, volume and page of the Schubert collected edition where the individual song can be found. Access Grove Music from the dictionaries and encyclopedia page in menu.
Library held collected editions
| Composer | Collected Edition |
|---|---|
| Bach, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750. | Score Ref M3.B32 1954 - works Score Ref M3.B32 1955 - critical commentary |
| Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827 | Score Ref M3 .B43 |
| Berlioz, Hector, 1803-1869 | Score Ref M3.B48 1900z |
| Böhm, Georg, 1661-1733 | Score Ref M3.B63 1952 |
| Boccherini, Luigi, 1743-1805 | Score Ref M3.B72 1970 |
| Brahms, Johannes, 1833-1897 | Score Ref M3 .B74 1996 |
| Charpentier, Marc-Antoine, 1643-1704 | Score Ref M3 .C464 1990 |
| Chopin, Frédéric, 1810-1849 | Score Ref M3.C56 1949 |
| Couperin, François, 1668-1733 | Score Ref M3.C68 1980 |
| Debussy, Claude, 1862-1918 | Score Ref M3 .D42 1985 |
| Dufay, Guillaume, d. 1474 | Score Ref M3 .D83 1951 |
| Fayrfax, Robert, 1464-1521 | Score Ref M3.F39 1959 |
| Frederick II, King of Prussia, 1712-1786 | Score Ref M3.F73 1889a |
| Gabrieli, Giovanni, 1557-1612 | Score Ref M3.G16 1956 |
| Gesualdo, Carlo, principe di Venosa, 1560 (ca.)-1613 | Score Ref M3.G35 1957 |
| Gluck, Christoph Willibald, Ritter von, 1714-1787 | Score Ref M3.G68 1951 |
| Guillaume, de Machaut, ca. 1300-1377 | Score Ref M3.G84 1954 |
| Handel, George Frideric, 1685-1759 | Score Ref M3.H36 1970z |
| Haydn, Joseph, 1732-1809 | Score Ref M3 .H39 |
| Josquin, des Prez, d. 1521. | Score Ref M3.J67 1969 |
| Lasso, Orlando di, 1532-1594 | Score Ref M3 .L34 1968 |
| Liszt, Franz, 1811-1886 | Score Ref M3 .L57 |
| Loewe, Carl, 1796-1869. | Score Ref M3.L69 1970 |
| Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791 | Score Ref M3.M69 - works Score Ref M3 .M69 1955 - critical commentary |
| Monteverdi, Claudio, 1567-1643 | Score Ref M3 .M78 1926 |
| Mussorgsky, Modest Petrovich, 1839-1881 | Score Ref M3.M87 1960z |
| Palestrina, Giovanni Pierluigi da, 1525?-1594 | Score Ref M3.P15 1960z |
| Purcell, Henry, 1659-1695 | Score Ref M3.P87 |
| Schoenberg, Arnold, 1874-1951 | Score Ref M3.S36 1966 |
| Schubert, Franz, 1797-1828. | Score Ref M3.S382 1965 |
| Schütz, Heinrich, 1585-1672. | Score Ref M3.S387 |
| Sweelinck, Jan Pieterszoon, 1562-1621 | Score Ref M3.S968 1957 |
| Telemann, Georg Philipp, 1681-1767 | Score Ref M3.T44 1950 |
| Willaert, Adrian, 1490?-1562. | Score Ref M3.W56 1950 |
Online Collected Editions
Collected Editions are available in the public domain from archives. Typically the latest, most complete and authoritative versions are only available in print. Apart from the scanned music manuscripts some archives also make available other primary material such as sketches and letters by the composers.
RISM - Repertoire International des Sources Musicales seeks to comprehensively document every extant musical score in the world. RISM make this information available from their online catalogue and can lead you to the location of a composer's original manuscript.
- RISM CatalogueThe world's largest database of musical sources. Covers manuscripts from 1600-1800, over 30000 composers, and over 1 million historic musical resources.
- International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) Critical EditionsIncluded editions for Bach, Beethoven, Berlioz, Brahms, Chopin, Handel, Haydn, Prokofiev, Mussorgsky, Schubert, Tchaikovsky and more
- Beethoven-Haus Bonn: Digital ArchivesProvides scanned images of manuscripts and early editions of Beethoven’s works, as well as letters, photographs, and other related documents
- Carl Nielsen EditionThe Carl Nielsen Edition presents a collected, critical edition of Nielsen's works in 32 volumes plus study scores and parts
- Chopin Early EditionsThe Chopin collection at the University of Chicago Library includes over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin.
- MDZ - Munich Digitization Center - MusicArchive features scanned works by Beethoven, Distler, Handel, Michael Haydn, Liszt, Mahler, Mendelssohn, Orff, Pfitzner, Reger, Schubert, Schumann, Strauss, Vogler, Wagner and more
- Neue Mozart-Ausgabe: OnlineThe scanned works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, made available by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum
