Library guides: Music: Journal articles

Journal articles

Key music journal article databases

Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
Provides full text access to scholarly and trade/practice articles covering all aspects of music.
This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals.. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
Music Index (EBSCOhost)
Provides citations and abstracts of articles from scholarly journals and other sources and covers all genres of music.

Oxford Scholarship Online. Music
Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of music history ; popular music ; ethnomusicology and world music ; theory, analysis, composition ; psychology of music.

Project MUSE
Collects peer reviewed humanities and social science resources primarily published by American Universities. Discipline coverage includes arts, social sciences, Asian studies, economics, film, theatre and performing arts, history, literary studies, music, philosophy and political science.
JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.

Specialised music resources

Medical Problems of Performing Artists
Medical Problems of Performing Artists is the first clinical medical journal devoted to the etiology, diagnosis, and treatment of medical and psychological disorders related to the performing arts. Original peer-reviewed research papers cover topics including neurologic disorders, musculoskeletal conditions, voice and hearing disorders, anxieties, stress, substance abuse, and other health issues related to actors, dancers, singers, musicians, and other performers.

Rock's Backpages
Provides access to the newspaper and magazine articles, audio interviews and reviews from music writers and critics.
A database of over 13,000 rock music articles, interviews and reviews from the world's best music writers and critics, from the late 1950s to the present day.

Australian Music Centre
The Australian Music Centre is the major source of information (publications, scores, recordings) on music by Australian composers. The AMC also accepts requests for the loan, hire and purchase of its music resources.

Taylor and Francis Journals
Journals and other publications for all disciplines published by Taylor and Francis.
Online access to journals published by the Taylor & Francis Group (including the imprints Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Carfax, Spon, Psychology Press and Garland Science). Coverage is mainly in the social sciences and humanities.
Mobile access: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
IPA Source
Contains International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content. Translations into English from multiple languages.

Multidisciplinary resources for music

JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.
SAGE Journals Online
Access journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Griffith University subscribes to the SAGE Premier package, which gives access to most, though not all, of the journals on SAGE Journals Online. SAGE's publishing focus is mainly the social sciences and humanities.
Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.