Get started
Welcome to the Music subject guide
Key music resources
Dictionaries & encyclopedias
- Grove Music Online
An authorative resource for music research covering the history, theory and cultures of music from around the world. Contains detailed music definitions, performer and composer biographies including works produced, score, audio and image examples.
- Grove - Guides to Western Art MusicEach of the guides contains lists of editorially selected Grove Music Online articles associated with a particular time period or genre. They are an excellent way to familiarize yourself with the key composers, performers, styles, and geographical centers of music in each of these areas of Western Art Music history.
- Music and Sound (Bloomsbury)
Provides access to reference and scholarship level content and a variety of learning resources across a range of subject areas in music and sound studies including scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide from the mid-20th century to the present day. It supports courses in ethnomusicology, the performing arts, media and communication, cultural studies, anthropology and sociology.
- Music Online : Classical Music Reference Library (Alexander Street Press)
A collection of music reference resources including dictionaries, encylopedias, ebooks on composers, muscians and all genres of music. Also included are scores and recordings.
- Drama Online (Bloomsbury)
Drama Online is a digital library of plays, videos, audio, context and criticism, theatre craft, images and articles.
Video & audio
- Naxos Music Library
Provides streaming music, cover artwork, biographies and more. This resource concentrates on western classical music but contains content from other genres such as jazz, world, classic rock and nostalgia.
- Music Online : Classical music in video (Alexander Street Press)A video streaming database of classical music performances of leading orchestras, soloists, chamber music, oratorios, masterclasses and covers music from the Medieval to the present.
- MUSAICMUSAIC—a collaborative digital initiative between the New World Symphony, Cleveland Institute of Music, Curtis Institute of Music, Eastman School of Music (University of Rochester), Guildhall School of Music and Drama (London), Manhattan School of Music, Royal Danish Academy of Music, San Francisco Conservatory of Music, University of Missouri-Kansas City, and University of Southern California—is an online community of classical musicians and continuously updated video library curated by America’s Orchestral Academy. Just as teachers have traditionally passed down knowledge to their students, MUSAIC provides access to classical music instruction and conversations for students and performers alike.
- Music Online : Opera in video (Alexander Street Press)A collection of streaming video performances of the most commonly studied operas and covers the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the present. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance in the world of opera.
Journal article databases
- Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)Access scholarly and popular journals covering music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory and composition. Database formerly known as the "International Index to Music Periodicals"
- Music Index (EBSCOhost)
Provides citations and abstracts of articles from scholarly journals and other sources and covers all genres of music.
- Taylor and Francis Journals
Journals and other publications for all disciplines published by Taylor and Francis.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)Medline is a good source for clinical musicians health literature.
- Psycinfo (Ovid)
A comprehensive database for psychology and behavioural science. Also covers other disciplines including artifical intelligence, business, education, medicine, law, linguistics, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, political science, psychology, social work, sociology and sports.
Score databases
- Naxos Sheet Music
Provides digital sheet music in all classical genres, spanning music from Medieval to the 21st century and composers from Bach to Arvo Part. Music can be downloaded and printed, and many works can also be transposed into any key or clef within the database.
- Music Online : Classical Scores Library (Alexander Street Press)A collection of online classical music scores from major and lesser known composers covering many different instruments, ensembles and genres. Collection contains both in-copyright and public domain music scores.
- Australian Jazz Real BookThe Australian Jazz Real Book is the definitive collection of the best Australian jazz tunes. Features over 400 sheets of Australian jazz tunes from Australian composers, curated into seventeen styles, as well as artist biographies and some streaming audio clips.
