Databases and journals
Key journal databases
Searching databases a slightly different process to searching the library or Google. For assistance see the creating a search statement and searching the databases information on the Library Study pages.
The following list of databases has been selected as having the most relevant information for this subject area.
- ERIC (ProQuest)
Includes journals, curriculum and teaching guides, and other publications for education.
- Education Database
Covers primary, secondary, and higher education; also includes special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
- Psycinfo (Ovid)
A comprehensive database for psychology and behavioural science. Also covers other disciplines including artifical intelligence, business, education, medicine, law, linguistics, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, political science, psychology, social work, sociology and sports.
- iLumina : Educational Resources for Science and Mathematics
A digital library of teaching materials in chemistry, biology, physics, mathematics and computer sciences.
- Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Key journals
- Australasian Journal of Special and Inclusive EducationThe Australasian Journal of Special and Inclusive Education publishes articles for a readership professionally engaged or interested in the education of students with special needs or the education of those who will work these students.
- The Australasian Journal of Special EducationA peer-reviewed journal of The Australian Association of Special Education (AASE). The AASE aims to enhance access for students with special education needs to quality educational programs, promote professional standards to support research that informs the delivery of special education in the Australian context.
- AutismAutism is a major, peer-reviewed, international journal, published 8 times a year, publishing research of direct and practical relevance to help improve the quality of life for individuals with autism or autism-related disorders.
- Journal of Autism and Developmental DisordersThe Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders is the leading peer-reviewed, scholarly periodical focusing on all aspects of autism spectrum disorders and related developmental disabilities.
- Journal of Developmental and Physical DisabilitiesThe Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities is an interdisciplinary forum for the publication of original research and clinical reports from a variety of fields serving persons with developmental and physical disabilities.
- The Journal of Special EducationThe Journal of Special Education (SED) provides research articles and scholarly reviews on special education: traditional, ethnographic, single-subject research; intervention studies, integrative reviews on timely issues, critical commentaries and special thematic issues.
- Preventing School FailurePublishes research on critical issues that affect the education of children and adolescents in various settings, and on alternative education systems.
- Research in Developmental DisabilitiesResearch In Developmental Disabilities is an international journal aimed at publishing original research of an interdisciplinary nature that has a direct bearing on the understanding or remediation of problems associated with developmental disabilities.
- Special Education PerspectivesAustralian Association of Special Education
- Teaching Exceptional ChildrenTEACHING Exceptional Children (TEC) features research-to-practice information and materials for classroom use, as well as current issues in special education teaching and learning. Published six times per year, TEC also brings its readers the latest data on instructional technologies, strategies, procedures, and techniques with applications to students with exceptionalities. The focus of its practical content is on immediate application. TEC is an official journal of the Council for Exceptional Children.
