Library guides: Psychology: Journals and journal articles

Want to improve your research skills?

Prepare to Search

Have a look at research techniques to help you retrieve the best search results.

Searching Databases

Search for information

Information on searching the databases including refining results and saving and exporting results.

Journals and journal articles

Key journal article databases

Journal databases index and often provide abstracts and/or the full text of articles in a wide range of journals in a discipline. Search these to find journal articles and other information on your research topic.

Psycinfo (Ovid)
A comprehensive database for psychology and behavioural science. Also covers other disciplines including artifical intelligence, business, education, medicine, law, linguistics, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, political science, psychology, social work, sociology and sports.
50 simultaneous user limit.
Psychology Database (ProQuest)
Find content relating to psychology and related disciplines. Includes journal articles, books, dissertations, training videos and more. Some content is full text.

DSM-5 Library
The DSM-5 Library includes Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-5-TR (2022) ; DSM-5 (2013) ; DSM-5 Clinical Cases ; DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis ; and DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview.
"The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. With successive editions over the past 60 years, it has become a standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field." - From Preface.

Embase
Health and biomedical journal articles and research in all health-related disciplines.
PsycEXTRA (Ovid)
Search for conference papers, reports, guidelines and more. Topics include psychology, behavioural science and health. Some content is full text.
1 simultaneous user limit.
PsycARTICLES (Ovid)
Access full text, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and affiliated journals.
This database is comprised of the full-text articles published in some 40+ psychology journals; most of which are published by the American Psychological Association (APA), with a limited number from the Canadian Psychological Association.
Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.

View more health databases

Psychology

Want to improve your research skills?

Searching Databases

Journals and journal articles

Key journal article databases

Key journals