Want to improve your research skills?
Not sure how to search the library catalogue?
Information on searching the library catalogue effectively, using refinements and saving and emailing search results.
Get started
You can't get by without
- Psycinfo (Ovid)
A comprehensive database for psychology and behavioural science. Also covers other disciplines including artifical intelligence, business, education, medicine, law, linguistics, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, political science, psychology, social work, sociology and sports.
- Psychology Database (ProQuest)
Find content relating to psychology and related disciplines. Includes journal articles, books, dissertations, training videos and more. Some content is full text.
- DSM-5 LibraryThe DSM-5 Library includes Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-5-TR (2022) ; DSM-5 (2013) ; DSM-5 Clinical Cases ; DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis ; and DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview.
"The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. With successive editions over the past 60 years, it has become a standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field." - From Preface.
Search the library catalogue
Search for books, journal articles and other resources in the library catalogue
Featured resource - online video
- Counseling & Therapy (Alexander Street Press)
A collection of video for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Study, observe, and experience a wide variety of different therapy and counseling methods and approaches as practiced by experts in the field.
Featured resource - eBook collection
- Oxford Library of PsychologyHandbooks in this series offer authoritative and up-to-date reviews of original research across the sub-disciplines of psychology.
- Oxford Academic - Psychology and NeuroscienceYou can now search across all books and journals under the Oxford Academic banner including the different Psychology and Neuroscience Series.
Featured reference resources
To check a definition, clarify unfamiliar words, gather background information on your topic, and/or develop your understanding of its terminology, an excellent place to start is to use an authoritative online or hard copy dictionary, encyclopedia and other reference material.
A Dictionary of PsychologyIncluding more than 11,000 definitions, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for ease of use, and cover word origins and derivations as well as definitions. More than 100 illustrations complement the text.
The Gale Encyclopedia of PsychologyThis resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental HealthPresents authoritative, comprehensive information on more than 200 mental disorders as well as drugs, treatments and therapies, alternative treatments, diagnostic and evaluation procedures, and related biological concepts totaling 530 articles.
Encyclopedia of Clinical NeuropsychologyCovers assessment, treatment, and rehabilitation of adult and pediatric neuropsychological disorders. This encyclopedia will serve as a unified, comprehensive reference for professionals involved in the diagnosis, evaluation, and rehabilitation of adult patients and children with neuropsychological disorders.
The Encyclopedia of Clinical PsychologyIncludes well over 500 A-Z entries covering the main topics, key concepts, and influential figures in this field. Serves as a comprehensive reference with particular emphasis on the scientific basis of the field; philosophical and historical issues; cultural considerations; and conflicts and controversies. Offers an historiographical overview, demonstrating how concepts have developed over time and the ways in which research influences practice. Cites the best and most up-to-date scientific evidence for each topic and encourages readers to think critically when evaluating the validity of various scientific claims, theories, and techniques. Interactive cross-referencing links and powerful searching and browsing capabilities within the work.
Have a look at the Griffith Library Catalogue for more Psychology reference material.
