Psychology

Designed to be a companion to Tests. It contains psychometric information relating to reliability, validity and normative development not included in Tests. Tests are chosen for inclusion based on frequency of use and recommendation by professional organisations. Includes introduction, practical applications, technical aspects, critique and references.

Over 3000 definitions offer clear explanations of statistical procedures commonly used in psychology; major psychometric and other psychological tests; categories of mental illness, mental disability, and brain damage; frequently used medical terms; basic neuroanatomy; and types of psychological therapies. This book is suitable for all levels of understanding, from undergraduate and postgraduate students to practitioners of psychology and associated fields, with particular attention to statistical terms used in typical university syllabuses, as well as tests commonly available in computer packages and cited in psychological journals and similar publications.

Contains 235 entries, each including a general conceptual and methodological overview and a section on relevant assessment devices.

Provides information on commercially available experimental mental measures, tests and surveys and uses as sources journals that carry studies and reports employing experimental instruments. Instruments are not evaluated and only basic test properties are suported but in most cases additonal sources are identified from which technical information may be obtained. Predominantly educational but includes material related to psychology, sociology, and human resources.

v. 1. Health psychology: attitudes, behaviours and experiences. Cognitive psychology: cognitions, coping and ability. Personality and individual differences -- v. 2. Social psychology: attitudes, beliefs, and interpersonal relationships. Psychological well-being. Developmental psychology: childhood, families, adulthood and aging. Work and educational psychology.

Offers coverage of the most widely used assessment instruments. It also provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, how to interpret assessment data, and how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways in which to write effective psychological reports. It includes coverage of the Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale® (WAIS®-IV), Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children® (WISC®-IV), Wechsler Memory Scale® (WMS®-IV), Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory®-2 (MMPI®-2), California Psychology InventoryTM (CPITM), Rorschach®, MillonTM Clinical Multiaxial Inventory-III (MCMI-IIITM), Thematic Apperception Test, Repeatable Battery for the Assessment of Neuropsychological StatusTM (RBANS®), brief assessment instruments, clinical interviewing, and behavioral assessment.

1st, 2nd and 3rd editions held. A collection of commonly used neuropsychological measures including cognitive, achievement, attention and memory, language, visual, auditory, tactile, motor, adaptive behaviour, and personality tests. Information provided for each test includes test name, other test names, purpose, source, description, administration, approximate time for administration, scoring, comment and normative data. A Name Index, Test and Subject Index are provided.