Library guides: Psychology: Using databases to locate psychological tests, measures, scales and surveys

Using databases to locate psychological tests, measures, scales and surveys

Psychological test databases

Psycinfo (Ovid)
A comprehensive database for psychology and behavioural science. Also covers other disciplines including artifical intelligence, business, education, medicine, law, linguistics, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, political science, psychology, social work, sociology and sports.
50 simultaneous user limit.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost)
A comprehensive database of journal articles and other publications for nursing and allied health. Coverage includes nursing specialties, speech pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Includes indexing for over 5,000 journals, with extensive full-text coverage available for over 1,200.

MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimized for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
ERIC (ProQuest)
Includes journals, curriculum and teaching guides, and other publications for education.
An international bibliographic database covering the literature on all aspects of education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education (RIE), covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), covering the published journal literature from over 775 periodicals.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices.

Search tips

Some search tips on finding information in these key databases:

Cinahl

Limit your search using the Publication Type limits Questionnaire/Scale or Research Instrument
Restrict your search to articles that actually include a test instrument try adding the words AND APPENDED to your search strategy, eg pain AND (measure* OR test* OR score* OR scale* OR questionnaire OR assessment OR survey) AND appended

ERIC

Limit your search using the Document Type limit Tests/Questionnaires
Restrict your search to articles that actually include a test instrument try adding the words AND APPENDED to your search strategy, eg self concept AND appended
You can limit the search above to Document Type as already suggested or add the keywords AND (measure* OR test* OR score* OR scale* OR questionnaire OR assessment OR survey)

Sociological Abstracts and Medline do not have useful limit options for test and measurement instruments. Keyword search or perform a thesaurus (subject heading) search for appropriate measurement terms and AND these to your subject term.