Library guides: Aviation: Aviation operations & planning

Aviation operations & planning

Databases

ProQuest

Multidisciplinary database with access to journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research and subject areas like The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, and the Social Sciences. Content is from all kinds of sources like Newpapers, Dissertations and Theses, Company annual reports and Snaphots. Proquest also includes the ProQuest Central database with over 11,000 scholarly journals.
MOBILE ACCESS FOR SELECTED DATABASES ONLY: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. It includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
Web of Science

Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.
Informit abstract/index databases
Index and abstract database covering a wide range of subject areas. Chiefly Australian content. On 'Select Databases' page, click 'Clear All' button, scroll to 'Abstract/Index Databases' and/or 'Archive Abstract/Index Databases' section, and select required database/s for searching. Databases include the Australian Transport Index (ATRI).
IEEE Xplore

Access journals, conference proceedings and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers.

IEL provides access to more than 1.7 million full-text searchable conference and journal articles published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). There is a full backfile to 1988, with some content going back to 1913. All active IEEE standards are also included in the IEL subscription.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices. To access click to icon of mobile phone.
IEEE Xplore

20 simultaneous user limit.
Knovel

Collection of handbooks, datasets and reference sources in applied science, technology and engineering.
ScienceDirect

Multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal article database, with full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences, and humanities.

Books

Dictionary of aeronautical terms
Aviation is an industry full of terms, acronyms and technical language. This book helps users understand all the words, abbreviations, phrases, and disciplines of aviation.
Airline operations and scheduling
Operations research techniques are extremely important tools for planning airline operations. This book demystifies the operations and scheduling environment, presenting simplified and easy-to-understand models, applied to straightforward and practical examples.
Airline operations and delay management : Insights from airline economics, networks and strategic schedule planning
A book that fills a gap within the area of airline schedule planning by addressing the close relationships between network development, economic driving forces, schedule demands and operational complexity.

CPL general knowledge
Exam preparation for general knowledge of aviation theory from Bob Tait's Aviation Theory series.
Part 139 (aerodromes) manual of standards 2019
Manual of standards for the appropriate design and operation of aerodromes in Australia.
Mapping of civil aviation orders to CASR parts 91, 119 and 135 - Australian air transport operations - smaller aeroplanes
Guidance material intended to assist CASA officers, delegates and the aviation industry in understanding the operation of the aviation legislation regarding smaller airplanes in Australia.
Aeroplane performance, planning & loading for the air transport pilot (B727)
An Australian book covering information on take-off performance, en-route performance, landing performance, fundamentals of flight planning, flight planning data, abnormal and emergency operations, operational flight planning and loading for B727 aircraft.
CAAP 92-1 CASA guidelines for aeroplane landing areas
These guidelines set out factors that may be used to determine the suitability of a place for the landing and taking-off of aeroplanes safely in the majority of circumstances.

Websites

Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA)
Provides current CASA standards - pilot guides, airworthiness, safety management, dangerous goods, etc. in full-text. Includes: rules and procedures, manuals and forms, standards and legislation covering the people and businesses involved in the aviation industry in Australia. Also includes media releases and Flight Safety magazine.
AirServices Australia Aeronautical Information Package online publications
Website containing the following online books:
• AIP Book
• AIP Charts
• AIP Supplements (SUP) and Aeronautical Information Circulars (AIC)
• Summaries of SUP/AIC
• Departure and Approach Procedures (DAP)
• Designated Airspace Handbook (DAH)
• En Route Supplement Australia (ERSA)
• Differences from ICAO Standards, Recommended Practices and Procedures
• Precision Approach Terrain Charts and Type A & Type B Obstacle Charts
• World Aeronautical Charts (WAC)
• IAIP and chart user guides and supplementary information
International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)
The specialized agency of the United Nations that coordinates the principles and techniques of international air navigation, and fosters the planning and development of international air transport to ensure safe and orderly growth.
CASA civil aviation orders
Civil Aviation Orders (CAOs) include information on technical standards and specifications. They provide detailed mandatory operational, airworthiness and safety requirements, complementing those set out in the Civil Aviation Regulations (CAR) 1988.

Top ranking journals

Legislation and regulations

Convention on international aviation - DOC 7300
The Convention on International Aviation DOC 7800 (the Chicago Convention) upon which principles the ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization) is based on. This Convention was established back in 1944, and has been updated in several revisions since that time. The latest update was in 2006.
Civil aviation regulations 1988 (with amendments)
The latest regulations regarding civil aviation in Australia.
Halsbury's Laws of Australia (via Lexis+)
Explode out chapter 35 - Aviation, and then III Aerodromes and Aviation Services. This chapter of the online book Halsbury's Laws of Australia covers the laws governing Australian aerodromes, airports, airspace, air traffic services, flight services, air traffic control, meteorological considerations, rescue services, firefighting services, statistical information, accident investigations and reports and the powers of officials in civil aviation.
Part 139 of CASR aerodromes
Part 139 of the Civil Aviation Safety Regulations (CASR) sets out requirements and standards for aerodromes with published instrument flight procedures.

Data, images and maps

CASA aerodrome manoeuvring maps
Searchable portal providing downloadable maps of Australian aerodromes.
Research Data Australia data - Aviation
Freely available aviation and transport-related data from Research Data Australia (ARDC).
Data.gov.au - aviation
Free and reusable aviation and air transport data and maps by Australian researchers.