Library guides: Aviation: Human factors and aviation safety

Human factors and aviation safety

Databases

Psycinfo (Ovid)

A comprehensive database for psychology and behavioural science. Also covers other disciplines including artifical intelligence, business, education, medicine, law, linguistics, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, political science, psychology, social work, sociology and sports.

50 simultaneous user limit.
PubMed
Search for journal articles and other publications relating to the biomedical and life sciences. Includes details of articles indexed in MEDLINE and selected full text articles from PubMed Central.

Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), this database was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at Web sites of participating publishers.
MOBILE ACCESS: Connect to http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/
Psychology Database (ProQuest)

Find content relating to psychology and related disciplines. Includes journal articles, books, dissertations, training videos and more. Some content is full text.
Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. It includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
Web of Science

Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.
ScienceDirect

Multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal article database, with full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences, and humanities.
IEEE Xplore

Access journals, conference proceedings and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers.

IEL provides access to more than 1.7 million full-text searchable conference and journal articles published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). There is a full backfile to 1988, with some content going back to 1913. All active IEEE standards are also included in the IEL subscription.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices. To access click to icon of mobile phone.
IEEE Xplore

20 simultaneous user limit.

Books

ICAO manual of civil aviation medicine - DOC 8984
The third edition of the international medical guidance manual by the International Civil Aviation Organization, clarifying the medical assessment, physiological, psychological considerations and pathologies that can be encountered in aviation and how to deal with them, also what medical training pilots need to maintain safety in the air.
CASA Safety Management Systems booklets
A portal providing the CASA free Safety Management System (SMS) kit for aviation professionals.
Booklet 1: Safety Management System basics
Booklet 2: Safety policy and objectives
Booklet 3: Safety risk management
Booklet 4: Safety assurance
Booklet 5: Safety promotion
Booklet 6: Human factors and human performance
Booklet 7: Scaling for size and complexity
Booklet 8: SMS resource kit
Booklet 9: Safety Management Systems for RPAS
Airservices Australia safety publications portal
A portal to the Airservices Australia publications on all aspects of aviation safety in Australia.
FAA Aerospace Medicine Reports Index
A portal of aviation medical research reports from the Federal Aviation Association (FAA) in the US. This web portal contains current and historical aviation medical research publications reaching back to the 1960's.

A human error approach to aviation accident analysis : The human factors analysis and classification system
This book contains a complete description of the Human Factors Analysis and Classification System (HFACS), which incorporates James Reason's model of latent and active failures as a foundation. Widely disseminated among military and civilian organizations, HFACS encompasses all aspects of human error, including the conditions of operators and elements of supervisory and organizational failure.
Basic flight physiology
Covers the many factors that can affect 'medical airworthiness'. This book includes medical developments that have a bearing on cockpit health. It provides accident-preventing information you can use to anticipate and compensate for the physiological effects of flying that can erode performance.
Flying fast jets : human factors and performance limitations
This book provides a detailed overview of the human factors and performance limitations associated with flying fast jets, integrating all the latest available research literature on the demanding operational tasks faced by such pilots and aircrews.
Human factors in air transport
This book provides students and the broader aviation community with a complete, accessible guide to the subject of human factors in aviation. It covers the history of the field before breaking down the physical and psychological factors, organizational levels, technology, training, and other pivotal components of a pilot and crew's routine work in the field.
From safety to safety science : the evolution of thinking and practice
This book provides a unique overview and insight into the background and usability of safety theories, as well as modelling how they developed and how they are used today in aviation safety.

Top ranking journals

Legislation and regulations

Civil Aviation Order 48.1 Instrument 2019 - Fatigue management
Australian legislation outlining the legal obligations of flight crew and pilots in managing fatigue for flight safety.
Civil Aviation Order 48.1 amendment instrument 2021 (No. 1)
Amendment to Civil Aviation Order 48.1 on fatigue management for flight crew.

Websites

Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB)
The Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB) is an independent Commonwealth Government statutory agency which conducts independent ‘no blame’ investigation of transport accidents and safety occurrences; safety data recording, analysis and research; and influences safety action through fostering safety awareness.
Human Factors and Ergonomics Society Australia
The main Australian professional body concerned with the understanding of interactions among humans and other elements of a system, applying theory, principles, data and methods to design in order to optimise human wellbeing and overall system performance.
National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB)
A US-based agency investigating accidents, crashes, and other events in the aviation, highway, marine, pipeline, and railroad transportation modes. Recently the organisation has added the investigation of accidents in commercial space transportation to its responsibilities.
CASA civil aviation orders
Civil Aviation Orders (CAOs) include information on technical standards and specifications. They provide detailed mandatory operational, airworthiness and safety requirements, complementing those set out in the Civil Aviation Regulations (CAR) 1988.
Fatigue management explained
CASA guidelines for fatigue management in aviation.
Australian Aviation Psychology Association
A website facilitating communication between stakeholders promoting best practice sharing across the industry with the aim of reducing cost to individual businesses, collaboration between all players to work on integrated practical solutions for existing issues and future challenges, and the human side of aviation.
European Association for Aviation Psychology
The European Association for Aviation Psychology (EAAP) provides a forum for professionals working in the various domains of aviation psychology and human factors from a European perspective.