Aircraft operation
Databases
- Engineering (Alexander Street Press)
Education and training in engineering providing existing and emerging engineers with the tools to respond, includes documentaries, instructional materials, how-to guides, and lectures.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- IEEE Xplore
Access journals, conference proceedings and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers.
- Engineering Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for chemical, civil, electrical, environmental and mechanical engineering.
- KnovelCollection of handbooks, conference papers, datasets and reference sources in applied science, technology and engineering. Contains significant resources in the aviation and aerospace industries.
- Engineering Workbench by Accuris
Engineering Workbench by Accuris offers access to Australian and International Standards, including ISO, ASTM, BSI, ICAO and ASHRAE standards. The database enables you to search for related bibliographic information including technical articles, journals, books, patents, patent applications, and utility models.
Books
Aircraft performance theory for pilotsCovers the rules governing the minimum levels of performance which must be attained by every type of public transport aeroplane, including weight, altitude and temperature, take-off and landing distance, cruise flight level and speed, and descent angle and rate.
Aircraft performance : an engineering approachIntroduces flight performance analysis techniques that enable readers to determine performance and flight capabilities of aircraft. Flight performance analysis for prop-driven and jet aircraft is explored. MATLAB programming for performance analysis is included, and coverage of modern aircraft types is emphasized.
Aerodynamics for naval aviatorsA definitive source that communicates the complexities of applied aerodynamics and aeronautical engineering for both the beginner and the experienced pilot.
Flight theory and aerodynamicsThis book connects the principles of aerodynamics and physics to their practical applications in a flight environment. Readers will learn about atmosphere, altitude, airspeed, lift, drag, applications for jet and propeller aircraft, stability controls, takeoff, landing, and other maneouvers.
- CASA visual flight rules guideFree downloadable copy of visual flight rules for aviation in Australia. Covers knowing your rules and responsibilities, planning your flight, flying your aircraft or helicopter, radio communication procedures, decision-making, hazards and dealing with emergency situations.
- Aircraft general knowledge for the CASA PPL/CPL day VFR syllabusThis book explains the aircraft's structure, power plant, propellers and internal systems.
- Aerodynamics for the CASA PPL/CPL day VFR syllabusAerodynamics is the study of how an aircraft is able to fly, how it is controlled, and the effects of the flight environment. It also encompasses the transition from ground to air and air to ground and the effects of wind, turbulence and windshear. This volume covers the CASA syllabus from BAK through PPL to CPL.
- Pilot’s handbook of aeronautical knowledge, FAA-H-8083-25BIntroduces pilots to the broad spectrum of knowledge that will be needed as they progress in their pilot training. Covers most of the knowledge areas applicable to pilot certification.
- Mechanics of flightBeginning with a summary of the mechanics of flight, this book goes on to cover various aspects such as air and airflow, subsonic speeds, aerofoils, thrust, level flight, gliding, landing, performance, manoeuvres, stability, control, flight at transonic speeds and at supersonic speeds; and space flight.
- CPL general knowledgeExam preparation for general knowledge of aviation theory from Bob Tait's Aviation Theory series.
- Aviation maintenance technician handbook - Powerplant volume 1One of a series of FAA handbooks for persons preparing for certification as a powerplant mechanic in aviation.
- Aviation maintenance technician handbook - Powerplant, volume 2One of a series of FAA handbooks for persons preparing for certification as a powerplant mechanic in aviation.
- Aviation maintenance technician handbook - Airframe, volume 1One of a series of handbooks for persons preparing for certification as an airframe or powerplant mechanic.
- Aviation maintenance technician handbook – Airframe, volume 2One of a series of handbooks for persons preparing for certification as an airframe or powerplant mechanic.
- Automation airmanship: Nine principles for operating glass cockpit aircraftA book that helps pilots by introducing nine principles for operating glass cockpit aircraft. Each principle provides a building block for a simplified, straightforward, and disciplined approach to operating increasingly complex aircraft safely and effectively in demanding operational environments.
- Avionics & flight management systems for the air transport pilotA manual produced to meet the demands of the aviation training industry for a reference text suited to those preparing for their written examination for the Air Transport Pilot Licence (ATPL).
- IEEE/AIAA digital avionics systems conferencesAll conference proceedings for the Conference on Digital Avionics Systems (DASC)
The pilot's handbook of aeronautical knowledgeTerminology, navigation, airport and airspace operations, radio communications, emergency procedures, flight planning, weather, FAA rules and regulations, and much more--all the essential information a pilot needs, in a concise format.
Legislation and regulations
- Halsbury's laws of Australia: I Air conventions and administrationDictionary of laws governing national air conventions, international aviation and aerospace conventions and agreements, and Australian civil aviation administration.
- Halsbury's laws of Australia: II Regulation of air operationsA comprehensive volume covering regulation of air operations, registration and marking of aircraft, airworthiness requirements, licensing of maintenance personnel, maintenance of aircraft, aircraft equipment and documents, aircraft noise, state aircraft and the operation of aircraft in terms of legislation related to air operators, flight crew and instructors, duties and responsibilities before and during flight.
- Halsbury's laws of Australia: IV Liabilities, offences and security in aviationEncyclopedia of Australian legislation on liabilities for surface damage by aircraft, offences against civil aviation and aviation security.
Data, images and maps
- Research Data Australia data - AviationFreely available aviation and transport-related data from Research Data Australia (ARDC).
- KnovelContains significant datasets for the aerospace industry, the ability to export graphs from those datasets, and has standard aviation equations inbuilt into the database.
- Data.gov.au - aviationFree and reusable aviation and air transport data and maps by Australian researchers.
Websites
- Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA)Provides current CASA standards - pilot guides, airworthiness, safety management, dangerous goods, etc. in full-text. Includes: rules and procedures, manuals and forms, standards and legislation covering the people and businesses involved in the aviation industry in Australia. Also includes media releases and Flight Safety magazine.
- International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)The specialized agency of the United Nations that coordinates the principles and techniques of international air navigation, and fosters the planning and development of international air transport to ensure safe and orderly growth.
- Australian Transportation Safety Bureau (NTSB)Australian board for the investigation into aviation accidents and safety in Australian airspace. Responsible for investigating accidents and transport safety occurrences involving Australian-registered civilian aircraft, commercial shipping and rail operations in Australia. Also participate in overseas investigations involving Australian-registered aircraft and providing support to international counterpart investigation agencies.
- AirServices Australia Aeronautical Information Package online publicationsWebsite containing the following online books:
• AIP Book
• AIP Charts
• AIP Supplements (SUP) and Aeronautical Information Circulars (AIC)
• Summaries of SUP/AIC
• Departure and Approach Procedures (DAP)
• Designated Airspace Handbook (DAH)
• En Route Supplement Australia (ERSA)
• Differences from ICAO Standards, Recommended Practices and Procedures
• Precision Approach Terrain Charts and Type A & Type B Obstacle Charts
• World Aeronautical Charts (WAC)
• IAIP and chart user guides and supplementary information - Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)Governing body for aviation safety, techniques and education in America. The equivalent of CASA in Australia.
