Navigation and weather
Databases
- Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- Science Database (ProQuest)
Contains journal articles relating to all major science fields, including physics, engineering, biology, environmental sciences and chemistry.
- ScienceDirect
Multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal article database covering research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
- IEEE Xplore
Access journals, conference proceedings and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers.
- KnovelCollection of handbooks, conference papers, datasets and reference sources in applied science, technology and engineering. Contains significant resources in the aviation and aerospace industries.
Books
Synoptic analysis and forecastingA book that helps students to understand the principles of weather analysis, which will complement computer forecast models, and imparts qualitative weather analysis and forecasting tools and techniques to non-meteorologist end users.
Flight science: mathematics, techniques, sensibilityThis book introduces certain aspects of mathematics and sciences in general, as they relate to the subject of aviation, from the wheels-up to the wheels-down, and the time in between. The topics include meteorology, thermodynamics, combustion, drones, mechanics, dynamics, navigation, flight plans, and general aviation-related guidance.
Flight theory and aerodynamicsAA book with a pilot-oriented approach to flight aerodynamics without assuming an engineering background. It connects the principles of aerodynamics and physics to their practical applications in a flight environment.
Aviation turbulence: processes, detection, predictionThe book provides background into the nature and causes of atmospheric turbulence that affect aircraft motion, and contains surveys of the latest techniques for remote and in situ sensing and forecasting of the turbulence phenomenon.
Aerospace navigation systemsThis book presents modern aircraft and spacecraft navigation methods based on up-to-date inertial, satellite, map matching and other guidance techniques and covers navigational applications over a wide range of aerospace vehicles including aircraft, spacecraft and drones, both remotely controlled and operating as autonomous vehicles.
- Manual of aviation meteorologyA comprehensive guide to meteorology developed by the Australian Bureau of Meteorology for pilots flying in Australian conditions.
- Severe weather flying: Increase your knowledge and skill to avoid thunderstorms, icing and severe weatherA book on how to detect severe weather conditions and how to avoid them, with advice on how to escape it if you become caught in it accidentally. The emphasis is on types of weather that are potentially hazardous to flight, with the capabilities and limitations of airplanes and equipment in avoiding and in dealing with severe weather.
- Navigating weather: A pilot's guide to airborne and datalink weather radarThis book gives pilots fundamental knowledge and skills necessary to operate both airborne and datalink weather radar, and teaches them how to use datalink weather technologies and understand their potential flaws to avoid inadvertently getting too close to or penetrating severe weather.
- Ice accretion and icing technologyThis title addresses, among other topics, the measurement techniques and the drop physics that apply to icing, certification for flight through ice crystal clouds and in supercooled large drops, improvements in predictive techniques, scaling methods, test facilities and techniques, and rotorcraft icing.
- Air traffic management and systems IV : selected papers of the 6th ENRI International Workshop on ATM/CNS (EIWAC2019)Conference proceedings containing articles on such topics as multi-stage arrival management, weather impacts on flight efficiency, dealing with adverse weather conditions, precision approach procedures, air traffic control, aircraft landing approaches, probabilistic weather approaches, impacts of wind, air/ground SWIM integration, shadowing effects on CNS, mountainous terrain and navigation with UAVs.
- IEEE/ION position, location and navigation symposium (PLANS)Proceedings of the biennial symposium conducted by ION (Institute of Navigation) and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) on navigation and positioning subjects.
