Library guides: Criminology and Criminal Justice: Articles and Journals

Articles and Journals

Australian Journal Databases

AGIS Plus Text (Informit)
Covers all aspects of Commonwealth-based law in the south pacific.
Covers all aspects of law and is produced by the AGIS Section of the Lionel Murphy Library, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department in Canberra. NOTE: Coverage - full text articles, 1999 to present ; index, 1975 to present.
Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) (Informit)
Covers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. Topics include current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Provides access to journal articles in the social sciences and humanities. Source documents include a wide range of periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers and books. NOTE: Coverage - articles, 1995 to present ; index, 1978 to present.

CaseBase Journal Articles (via LexisNexis)
CaseBase journals is an excellent bibliographic reference, with catchworded and annotated article entries covering over 100 Australian and overseas legal journals. Journal entries include article details including title, author and citation; and, for online subscribers, a link to the full text of the articles cited where available.

Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for the arts, communication, education, history, linguistics, politics and more.
Covers Agriculture, Arts, Asian Studies, Business, Cultural Studies, Education, Health, Medicine, History, Indigenous Studies, Law, Media, Political Science, Reference, Social Sciences, Science and Technology. NOTE: Coverage - 1940 to present.

International Journal Databases

JSTOR
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)
Provides coverage (from 1980) to legal publications including law reviews, legal newspapers, speciality publications, and bar association journals.
3 simultaneous user limit.

Oxford Journals
Access journals for all disciplines.
more...less...
Oxford University Press publishes over 170 journals, most of which are available online. Subject coverage is broad and includes: biochemistry and molecular biology; biology and ecology journals; computing and engineering; economics, business and management; medicine and health sciences; history; law; mathematics and statistics; political science; sociology and social work.

Psychology Database (ProQuest)
This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Psycinfo (Ovid)
PsycINFO covers the academic, research and practice literature in psychology covering the period from 1983 to date. It includes relevant information from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, social work, law, criminology, social science and organizational behaviour. NOTE: USE THE MULTI-FIELD SEARCH.
50 simultaneous user limit.
SAGE Journals Online
SAGE Journals Online provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Includes Criminology and Police Studies.
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Griffith University subscribes to the SAGE Premier package, which gives access to most, though not all, of the journals on SAGE Journals Online. SAGE's publishing focus is mainly the social sciences and humanities.
ScienceDirect
Multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal article database covering research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences.

MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences.
Springer Nature Link
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals and books published by Springer and currently offers over 1,350 fully peer-reviewed journals published by Springer and its subsidiaries, including Kluwer. Includes Law and Criminology & Criminal Justice.
Springer is one of the world's leading publishers of scientific, technical, and medical (STM) books and journals. The book series Lecture Notes in Computer Science is also available on SpringerLink.
MOBILE ACCESS: Has an iPhone/iPad app available
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.
Wiley Online Library
Contains a collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities.

Australian Institute of Criminology

AIC Publications
Includes latest publications and publication series.
JV Barry Library Catalogue
The JV Barry Library is a major criminal justice information resource that supports the information needs of the Institute's research programs and provides services to key stakeholders and other clients. It produces the CINCH database, an index of Australian criminal justice information. The JV Barry Library houses the most comprehensive library-based collection in the field of criminology and criminal justice in Australia.
Subscribe to the AIC's email alert
Sign up for the AIC's free email alert services to find out about new publications, events, media releases, job opportunities and the JV Barry library's crime and justice alerts.

Journals

Crime & Delinquency
A policy-oriented journal offering a wide range of research and analysis for the scholar and professional in criminology and criminal justice.
Criminal Law Forum
A peer reviewed journal dedicated to the advancement of criminal law theory, practice, and reform throughout the world.
British Journal of Criminology
The British Journal of Criminology is a valuable resource for academics and researchers in crime.
Current Issues in Criminal Justice
A major Australian journal on criminal justice published by the Institute of Criminology Press.
The Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency.
Offers articles, research notes, review essays and special issues to keep you up-to-date on contemporary issues and controversies within the criminal justice field.
Journal of Quantitative Criminology
This journal publishes papers that apply quantitative techniques of all levels of complexity to substantive, methodological, or evaluative concerns of interest to the criminological community.
Sociology compass: Crime & Deviance
Sociology Compass publishes peer-reviewed state-of-the-field articles on a continuous basis, with new articles appearing in each monthly issue. The ideal Compass article is an intervention in the field or sub-field, showing its present state and direction in the future.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
On Google Scholar home page, click on drop down arrow in search bar for Advanced Search form.
Accessing Google Scholar Off-Campus
Google Scholar searches for scholarly information including journal articles, conference papers, theses, technical reports and books.
To access Full Text@Griffith links which appear next to a result when it is available on a Library database, scroll down to the Google Scholar section and follow the Off-Campus configuration instructions under 'Set up Google Scholar'.

Grey literature

Grey literature guide (University of Queensland)
Find literature that is not available in traditional channels of publishing and distribution via this UQ link.

Check for peer review

Ulrichsweb
Ulrichsweb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. Check here to determine if a publication is peer reviewed / refereed.