Statistics
Crime and Justice Statistics
- Australian Bureau of Statistics. Crime and JusticeIncludes information on Prisoner Characteristics, Experiences of Crime Victimisation, Domestic Violence, Drugs, Criminal Courts, and more.
- Australian Crime: Facts and Figures (AIC)This annual publication provides a statistical overview of the most recent available national information on crime in Australia, and is intended to serve as a ready reference. The publication presents statistics on the numbers and types of recorded crime, their place of occurrence, victim details, responses of criminal justice agencies and government resources to deal with crime and corrections.
- Australian Institute of Criminology StatisticsCrime and criminal justice; Deaths in custody; Homicide and more.
- Courts statistics (Queensland Courts)Queensland Courts provides a wide range of statistical information about the operation of the courts.
- Crime and Justice – General (Queensland Government Statistician's Office)Statistics related to criminal activity, criminal justice and other justice topics.
- Crime Statistics Australia (AIC)The website is a one-stop-shop for current and trend data on Australian crime and justice datasets including, victims of crime, offenders, corrections, courts, and recent statistical findings from the AIC’s Monitoring Program series. Data can be updated in real time as it becomes available. A comprehensive online resource aimed at streamlining crime data.
- National Statistical Service (Australian Bureau of Statistics)The National Crime Statistics Unit (NCSU) forms part of the National Centre for Crime and Justice Statistics in the Australian Bureau of Statistics. The main function of the NCSU is the production of comparable national crime statistics across jurisdictions, compiled according to national standards and classifications developed by the NCSU. All police jurisdictions are involved in the process.
- NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Researchhe Bureau is the official source of NSW crime information. BOCSAR conducts research into crime and criminal justice and evaluates initiatives designed to reduce crime and reoffending.
- Productivity Commission Report on Government Services (Justice)The annual Report on Government Services (RoGS) provides information on the equity, effectiveness and efficiency of government services in Australia. Part C: Justice, includes performance reporting for police services, courts and corrective services.
- Queensland Crime StatisticsCrime Statistics from Queensland going back to 2001 Provided by the Queensland Police service
- Queensland Courts’ domestic and family violence (DFV) statisticsData collections cover three topics:
• Applications for domestic violence protection orders (DVOs) lodged
• DVOs made
• Criminal charges lodged relating to DFV
Figures are provided for larger court locations as well as statewide totals. - Publications (AIC)Publications produced as part of the AIC research process.
General Statistics (Australian)
- ABS Statistics
Australia's national statistical agency and an official source of independent, reliable information. Access to the full range of the Bureau's statistical and reference information, including census data from 1996 onwards.
- Facts and Figures (Australian Institute of Family Studies)Family facts and figures provides broad trends in Australian families. These trends are primarily based on statistics published by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS), though data from major Australian surveys are also used. Contains statistics relating to Australian families including marriage, cohabitation, divorce and child protection.
- Queensland Government Statistician's OfficeThis site contains a wide range of demographic, economic and social data relating to the state of Queensland, as well as information about using statistics.
International
- Passport (Euromonitor)Passport contains over a million hard-to-find demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries. The historic and forecast data enable you to build detailed country profiles and analyse trends from 1977-2016 205 country profiles.
- CIA World FactbookProvides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
- Research and Analysis Series (UK)Home Office research and analysis covers the following areas: alcohol, crime, counter terrorism, drugs, crime, migration and policing.
- United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)United Nations Survey of Crime Trends and Operations of Criminal Justice Systems. Standards and recommendations for crime statistics
Find statistics
Statistics are often freely available on the web. When trying to find statistical information, ask yourself:
- Are statistics likely to have been collected on this topic?
- If so, which organisation would collect/publish these type of statistics?
Publishers include:
- State government;
- Federal government;
- International governments;
- International agencies;
- Private entities; and
- Membership organisations.
Statistics may also be reported in newspaper, magazine and journal articles.
Be prepared for the possibility that:
- Statistics may not exist for the variables you require;
- The most recent statistics available may be several years old; and
- Some statistics are not freely available.
