Get started

Welcome to the Musical Theatre subject guide

Drama Online (Bloomsbury)
Drama Online is a digital library of plays, videos, audio, context and criticism, theatre craft, images and articles.
Naxos Music Library
Provides streaming music, cover artwork, biographies and more. This resource concentrates on western classical music but contains content from other genres such as jazz, world, classic rock and nostalgia.
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. The Naxos Music Library offers complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 400 independent labels such as ARC, Berlin Classics, BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, CPO, EMI Classics, Erato, Haenssler Classic, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naïve, Naxos, Nimbus, Ondine, Teldec, Vanguard Classics, Virgin Classics and Warner Classics. Resources include music notes, cover artwork, tracklistings, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas, more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, glossary, guide to musical terms and work analyses. Streaming quality is 128 Kbps.
Kanopy Australia
Kanopy is a comprehensive, on-demand, multidisciplinary streaming video service for educational institutions. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.
Theatre (Alexander Street Press)
Online library database of theatre videos, including plays and film documentries.

Grove Music Online
An authorative resource for music research covering the history, theory and cultures of music from around the world. Contains detailed music definitions, performer and composer biographies including works produced, score, audio and image examples.
Updated frequently, Grove Music Online is an essential tool for anyone interested in researching, teaching, or just learning more about music. Written and edited by more than 9,000 subject experts, Grove’s 57,000 articles offer clear overviews of topics from a scholarly perspective and include extensive bibliographies, which are curated to guide users through existing scholarship. Grove’s 40,000 biographical articles provide life information and detailed works lists for composers, performers, and other important musical figures. Grove Music Online also features more than 6,000 images, musical examples, and links to audio and video examples.
6 simultaneous user limit.

AusStage : Gateway to the Australian Performing Arts
A database of information on resources on Australia's performing arts heritage. Its primary aim is provide information on where research resources might be located. These may be found in institutions such as libraries, musea and universities, with theatre or other performing arts companies, or with individual collectors.

Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
Provides full text access to scholarly and trade/practice articles covering all aspects of music.
This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals.. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
Music Index (EBSCOhost)
Provides citations and abstracts of articles from scholarly journals and other sources and covers all genres of music.
Taylor and Francis Journals
Journals and other publications for all disciplines published by Taylor and Francis.
Online access to journals published by the Taylor & Francis Group (including the imprints Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Carfax, Spon, Psychology Press and Garland Science). Coverage is mainly in the social sciences and humanities.
Mobile access: Optimised for use on mobile devices.