Video & audio

Key video resources

Stephen Sondheim in Conversation

The Library proudly presents Theatre in Video by Alexander Street Press. Theatre in Video contains hours of streaming video to watch now. Enjoy.

Theatre (Alexander Street Press)
Online library database of theatre videos, including plays and film documentries.
Kanopy Australia
Kanopy is a comprehensive, on-demand, multidisciplinary streaming video service for educational institutions. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.
Alexander Street Press
Provides access to streaming video, audio and text resources in discipline areas such as literature; music; women's history; black history; psychological counseling and therapy; social and cultural history; drama, medical, theatre, film, and the performing arts; religion; sociology; and other emerging areas.

Music Online : Opera in video (Alexander Street Press)
A collection of streaming video performances of the most commonly studied operas and covers the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the present. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance in the world of opera.

Key audio resources

Naxos Music Library
Provides streaming music, cover artwork, biographies and more. This resource concentrates on western classical music but contains content from other genres such as jazz, world, classic rock and nostalgia.
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. The Naxos Music Library offers complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 400 independent labels such as ARC, Berlin Classics, BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, CPO, EMI Classics, Erato, Haenssler Classic, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naïve, Naxos, Nimbus, Ondine, Teldec, Vanguard Classics, Virgin Classics and Warner Classics. Resources include music notes, cover artwork, tracklistings, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas, more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, glossary, guide to musical terms and work analyses. Streaming quality is 128 Kbps.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Provides streaming music, cover artwork, biographies and more. This resource concentrates on jazz music, featuring music and artists from labels such Blue Note Records and Fantasy eg. Herbie Handcokc, Dexter Gordon, Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter, Sonny Rollins, Thelonius Monk, John Coltrane, Miles Davis and more.
5 simultaneous user limit.

Naxos Music Library - App

Get the Naxos Music Library App

Naxos has the NML App for listening to music on your device. Refer to the instructions for "Student/Faculty of a subscribing university or an education institution" to get started.

Setting up the NML App