Library guides: Pharmacy and Pharmacology: Journals and Journal articles

Journals and Journal articles

Key journal article databases

Health databases

Searching for journal articles in databases specialising in health sources helps you find resources focused on your discipline.

Embase
Includes journals and other publications in the biomedical sciences.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Find the details of journal articles and other publications across the biomedical and life sciences. MEDLINE is a subset of PubMed.
MEDLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is one of the foremost databases of biomedical literature covering virtually every area in the broad field of biomedicine. MEDLINE provides data on toxicology, nutrition, pharmacology, medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, medical engineering and pathology, communication disorders, population and reproductive biology.
MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimised for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Find the details of journal articles and other publications across the biomedical and life sciences. MEDLINE is a subset of PubMed.
MEDLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is one of the foremost databases of biomedical literature covering virtually every area in the broad field of biomedicine. MEDLINE provides data on toxicology, nutrition, pharmacology, medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, medical engineering and pathology, communication disorders, population and reproductive biology.
50 simultaneous user limit.
Cochrane Library
Provides in-depth research summaries (systematic reviews), and research journal articles with a focus on evidence-based medicine and healthcare.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Methodology Register; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
PubMed
Search for journal articles and other publications relating to the biomedical and life sciences. Includes details of articles indexed in MEDLINE and selected full text articles from PubMed Central.
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), this database was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at Web sites of participating publishers.
MOBILE ACCESS: Connect to http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/

PubChem
PubChem is a collection of freely accessible chemical information; able to search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Contains chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, and literature citations.

Health and Medical collection (ProQuest)
Journal articles about health care, medicine and biomedical topics including consumer health and health administration.

Multi-disciplinary databases

Searching multidisciplinary databases helps you find journal articles published outside your discipline and are ideal for cross-disciplinary topic areas.

Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.
Gale Research Complete
Includes access to journal articles, newspapers, reference material, audio content and ebooks across multiple disciplines. It also includes access to Gale Primary Sources.
This collection includes access to:
- Archives Unbound
- Gale Academic OneFile
- Gale Business: Insights
- Gale eBooks
- Gale General OneFile
- Gale Literature Criticism
- Gale Literature Resource Center
- Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors
- Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Gale Literature: LitFinder
- Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series
- Gale Literature: Something About the Author
- Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series
- Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
- Gale OneFile: News.

Key journals for pharmacy research

Pharmacy research is available in a wide range of journals. Browsing key pharmacy journals can help you understand research in the discipline. This list is just a few of the many journals available in pharmacy and pharmacology fields.

Australian journals

The Australian Journal of Pharmacy (AJP)
Official journal of the associated pharmaceutical organisations of Australia.
Australian Prescriber
Provides critical commentary on drugs and therapeutics for health professionals.
Australian Pharmacist
The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia’s monthly journal. It contains pharmacy education and practice features, research papers, health and pharmacy news and information about PSA activities.

International journals

British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology
Covers all aspects of drug action in humans, bridging the gap between the medical profession, clinical research and the pharmaceutical industry.
Pharmacological Reviews
Publishes review articles covering biochemical and cellular pharmacology, drug metabolism and disposition, renal pharmacology, neuropharmacology, behavioral pharmacology, clinical pharmacology, and toxicology.