Articles and Journals
Australian law journal databases
- AGIS Plus Text (Informit)Covers all aspects of law and is produced by the Lionel Murphy Library, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department in Canberra. NOTE: Coverage - full text articles, 1999 to present ; index, 1975 to present. NOTE: Supports direct export into EndNote.
- CaseBase Journal Articles (via LexisNexis)CaseBase journals is an excellent bibliographic reference, with catchworded and annotated article entries covering over 100 Australian and overseas legal journals. Journal entries include article details including title, author and citation; and, for online subscribers, a link to the full text of the articles cited where available.
- Peer reviewed Journals on Westlaw AUThe Journals Talk blog site lists Thomson Reuter's peer review processes for each of their journals. A title is denoted as peer reviewed by a bullet point and note: " • This journal complies with the Higher Education Research Data Collection (HERDC) Specifications for peer review. Each article is, prior to acceptance, reviewed in its entirety by a suitably qualified expert who is independent of the author.”
- Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) (Informit)
Covers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. Topics include current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
- Australasian Legal Scholarship Library (AustLII): Law journalsIncludes AU Law Journals, NZ Law Journals, Judicial Scholarship, Law Research Series, Monographs & Theses and some material not contained in the Library Catalogue Search.
- College of Law Practice Papers NSW (via LexisNexis)The College of Law Practice Papers describe and explain the various steps and processes in all core areas of legal practice, including Civil Litigation, Criminal Litigation, Advocacy, Skills, Conveyancing, Family Law, Wills and Probate, Corporate and Commercial, Accounting, Tax and Professional Responsibility. But as the practice of law continues to evolve, the College is in the process of developing new suites of papers on Due Diligence and eCommerce for Lawyers.
Australian law society journals
- Proctor (Queensland Law Society)The professional publication of the Queensland Law Society. Contains articles, reviews, legislation updates, case notes and more.
- LSJ: Law Society of NSW journalSearch the Law Society Journal from 2014 to present via the Informit platform.
- Law Society journal : the official journal of the Law Society of New South WalesAvailable on the Informit platform to from 1994 to 2014.
- Law Institute journalThe official organ of the Law Institute of Victoria.
- Brief : Law Society of Western AustraliaAvailable on the Informit platform to from 1994 to present.
International law journal databases
- HeinOnlineHeinOnline's "Law Journal Library" contains more than 2,400 law and law-related periodicals. Subjects covered include criminal justice, political science, technology, human rights, and more. Coverage for all journals is from inception and goes through the most currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. About 90% of journals are available through the current issue or volume. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.
- World Journals (Thomson Reuters Westlaw)Available from the Thomson Reuters Westlaw platform, World Journals contains articles from law reviews and bar journals published in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and other countries around the world. Coverage varies by publication.
- Law reviews & journals (United States) (Thomson Reuters Westlaw)As well as US journals, this database contains bar journals published in the United States. Once on the publications page, click on the Scope icon for coverage information.
- Cambridge Law JournalsCambridge have an established and ever expanding academic law list in public and private law subjects crossing books and journals aimed at a global readership. Particular strengths lie in international law, human rights and transitional justice, transnational and comparative law, jurisprudence, and legal history. We also publish a growing number of titles with an inter-disciplinary and socio-legal approach.
- Legal Journals IndexAvailable from the Thomson Reuters Westlaw platform, Legal Journal Index indexes articles from legal journals published in the United Kingdom and Europe as well as journals covering topics pertaining to the laws of the European Community and its Member States.
- Kluwer Law Online Journals
This international journal library includes Common market law review, European business law review, European foreign affairs law review, European public law, European review of private law, International journal of comparative labour law and industrial relations, Journal of international arbitration, Journal of world trade, Legal issues of economic integration, World competition, and European environmental law review.
- Oxford Journals OnlineOxford Journals Online Collection includes some of the world's most highly cited and prestigious journals, in a broad range of subject disciplines including Law.
- Westlaw UK JournalsWestlaw UK Journals offers two services: full-text articles and article abstracts. The full-text articles service contains thousands of articles in full text from journal titles published by Sweet & Maxwell, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, amongst others.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (EBSCOhost)The database Indexes over 850 leading legal periodicals. Coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications published in countries including United States, Canada, Great Britain, Australia and New Zealand. Also indexes around 1,400 legal monographs per year. Coverage from 1981 onwards.
- Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective : 1908-1981 (EBSCOhost)
Covers legal journals published between 1908-1981 from the US, Canada, Great Britian, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.
- LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)LegalTrac provides coverage from 1980 to approximately 1400 legal publications including major law reviews, legal newspapers, law specialty publications, and bar association journals. NOTE: Supports direct export into EndNote.
- JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
Legal newsletters and updates
- Australian Government Attorney-General’s (AGS) publicationsAGS provides a range of publications to assist clients, other Australian Government lawyers, researchers, academics, students and the public. Includes newsletters, legal updates, fact sheets and annual reports.
SSRN
- SSRN (Social Science Research Network)Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a worldwide collaborative of over 352,400 authors and more than 2.2 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research.
- Advanced Search (SSRN)Search using author, title, abstract, keywords. This link also provides access to the BROWSE by Classification function.
Google Scholar
- Google ScholarOn Google Scholar home page, click on drop down arrow in search bar for Advanced Search form.
- Accessing Google Scholar Off-CampusGoogle Scholar searches for scholarly information including journal articles, conference papers, theses, technical reports and books.
To access Full Text@Griffith links which appear next to a result when it is available on a Library database, follow the Off-Campus configuration instructions.
Grey literature
- Grey literature guide (University of Queensland)Find literature that is not available in traditional channels of publishing and distribution via this UQ link.
