Library guides: Law: Books & eBooks

Books & eBooks

eBook databases

The Queensland law handbook
The Queensland Law Handbook is a comprehensive, plain-English legal resource published by the Caxton Legal Centre. This resource can be an excellent starting point for researching a new area of Queensland law.
Legal Classics Library
Searchable database which offers access to more than 1400 works from some of the greatest legal minds in history. Including classics and rare items, the collection focuses on constitutional law, political science, and other topics.
Martinus Nijhoff Human Rights and Humanitarian Law
Human Rights and Humanitarian Law e-books online is the electronic version of the book publication program of Martinus Nijhoff Publishers in the broad field of human rights and humanitarian law. Coverage: Human Rights - Refugee Law - Immigration Law - Health Law - Children's Rights - Minority and Group Rights - Humanitarian Law - International Criminal Law.
Oxford Scholarship Online. Law
Cross-searchable library containing the full text of Oxford University Press books in the areas of public international law; constitutional and administrative law; philosophy of law; criminal law and criminology; human rights law; EU law; legal history; law of obligations; comparative law; company and commercial law; environmental and energy law; legal profession and ethics; employment law; intellectual property, IT, and media law; competition law; medical law; private international law; family law.
Legal Research Skills: An Australian Law Guide
A guide designed to support students undertaking legal studies and research
A Guide to Writing in Law School
This book aims to help students improve their writing by presenting various pieces of advice, tips, warnings and encouragement. It contains general chapters on planning, clear writing, and acknowledging your sources, as well as dedicated chapters on some of the specific writing tasks that law students undertake.

Gale Primary Sources

Provides access to a range of primary sources. Can be used with Gale's Digital Scholar Lab for text analysis and more.
This collection includes access to:
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender
- Archives Unbound
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
- British Library Newspapers
- Chatham House Online Archive
- China and the Modern World
- Crime, Punishment and Popular Culture
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- Financial Times Historical Archive
- Indigenous Peoples of North America
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
- Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
- Political Extremism and Radicalism
- Refugees, Relief and Resettlement
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
- The Economist Historical Archive
- The Making of Modern Law: Americal Civil Liberties Union Papers
- The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources
- The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law
- The Making of Modern Law: Landmark Records and Briefs of the U.S. Courts of Appeals
- The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises
- The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
- The Making of Modern Law: Trials
- The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs
- The Making of the Modern World
- The Times Digital Archive
- The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
- Women's Studies Archive.
Springer Nature Link
As well as journals, SpringerLink also hosts books published by Springer. Discipline areas include Law and Criminology & Criminal Justice.

Springer is one of the world's leading publishers of scientific, technical, and medical (STM) books and journals. The book series Lecture Notes in Computer Science is also available on SpringerLink.
MOBILE ACCESS: Has an iPhone/iPad app available

Browse books

Browsing the library shelves can also be a useful strategy for finding material.

Subject heading	Call number range
Legal Profession	KL50-119
Legal history	KL400-480
Constitutional law	KM31-259
Administrative law	KM300-416
Taxation	KM335-337.9
Criminal law & procedure	KM500-690
Criminology	HV
Contract & tort	KN5-39
Property	KN50-143
Environmental law	KN94
Family law	KN170-176
Industrial law	KN190-198
Trusts & trustees	KN210-218
Commercial law	KN250-349
Practice & procedure	KN350-399
Evidence	KN390-394
Trial practice	KL93
Moot courts	KL93