Law

The Parliament of Australia's search engine, ParlInfo, offers Basic and Advanced searches, plus more. See ParlInfo Help for Search Tips.

Parliamentary Committee reports are valuable resources for legal research and considered extrinsic materials for the purpose of statutory interpretation.

User manual provides Search Tips Navigation as well as contact details for more help with searching.

This Parliament of Australia Infosheet describes how government bills, that is those proposed by Ministers, are considered and passed by the House.

Reading Acts, Regulations and other laws requires an understanding of the structure of Australian Government legislation.

Produced by the Federal Register of Legislation.

Last week in Parliament is produced following each Parliamentary sitting week. It summarises key events in the Commonwealth Parliament in the previous week and includes links to the most significant documents. (Australian Government Attorney-General’s Department).

Includes research publications, monthly statistical bulletins, and other Library resources and research tools.

The Federal Register of Legislation is the official Commonwealth Government website for publication of legislation.

LawNow Legislation is a full text legislation service, including current, repealed and historical versions of Australian legislation.

LawNow Plus™ Legislation Citator reports are generated for current Acts and Subordinate Legislation (and their provisions) covered in LawNow™. If a current Act is repealed (after July 2016), the Legislation Citator report for that repealed item will remain accessible on Lexis Advance. Legislation Citator reports are not generated for amending legislation. View the LawNow - Legislation Citator tutorial.

Click on the "Commonwealth Legislation" tab.

Search or browse legislation by title, keywords or subject.

Contains all Commonwealth and State Legislative material relating to Coronial Law.

This database represents the legislation section of the Australian Current Law database, and is the electronic equivalent of the printed legal current awareness service. It includes details of legislation from all Australian jurisdictions.

Bills As introduced. Search by title or year.

Browse bills, Bills lists and More on bills.

1976 to present.

Type the Bill's title into the Basic Search, eg. "Aged Care (Bond Security) Levy Bill 2006". Filter by Bills and Legislation.

From 1967 to present.

This index lists all items identified as Explanatory Memoranda or as Comparative Memoranda from 1901 to the end of 1982 (1st–32nd Parliaments).

Some selected Memoranda after 1982 (and not available on the Internet elsewhere) are published below. The AustLII website may also contain copies of Explanatory Memoranda that do not appear in the list below.

Explanatory Memoranda now accompany every government Bill introduced into the Parliament, but this has not always been the case. From 1901 to 1982, there was no easy way of knowing if an Explanatory Memorandum had been produced for a particular Bill. An online Index to Explanatory Memoranda produced by the Parliamentary Library, now makes it possible for legislators and researchers to know if a Memorandum was produced.

Search or Browse Legislation. Explanatory memoranda are linked to legislation (where available).

To located a SRS navigate to the legislation's homepage, then click the link "Key Info". For additional information, click on the link inside this box titled "View all details".

Search or Browse Legislation. Second Reading Speeches are linked to legislation (where available).

Use the ParlInfo Guided Search and select "Second Reading Speeches for a Commonwealth Bill". Type in the Bill's title and click Search.

Bills and Legislation page. Second Reading Speeches are linked to Bills from 1997 onwards.