Law

Westlaw offers access to Canadian journals, cases and legislation and other legal materials. From the Westlaw home page, select "International Materials", then "Canada".

On the Westlaw homepage, click on the link "International Materials", select "Canada", then the "All Canadian Cases" link.

Find Judgments under "Cases" tab.

There are two comprehensive electronic citators for Canadian case law: QuickCite on Quicklaw, and KeyCiteCanada on WestlawNext Canada. Reflex on CanLII is not as comprehensive and does not assign treatment codes. However, it is a good starting point for updating recent case law.

An essential research tool for finding information on legislation before Parliament. This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about each bill.

Consolidated Acts and regulations of Canada.

This website provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.

CanLII Connects makes it faster and easier for legal professionals and the public to access high-quality legal commentary on Canadian court decisions.

Halsbury’s Laws of Canada is a leading legal encyclopedia with comprehensive coverage of aspects of the legal processes and practices in Canada.

This guide can help you develop an effective Step-by-Step Legal Research Process, learn when and how to use particular resources, and better understand statutory research and electronic searching. Links to free online resources and lists of leading publications can help you conduct your research. Material on writing and analysis can help to improve your legal writing and reasoning. Formerly the "Best Guide to Canadian Legal Research".

Overview of the Canadian legal system, legislation, case law and Canadian law materials. Published June 2015.

This guide provides links to Canadian federal, Ontario and other provincial and territorial legislative material. produced by The Law Society of Upper Canada.

A collection of learning modules created by the Brian Dickson Law Library, University of Ottawa. Designed to help you understand how to find legal information quickly and easily.

Databases and other materials concerning Canada.

Canadian Encyclopedic Digest provides a comprehensive statement of the law of Ontario and the four western provinces - provincial, federal and common law - as derived from the case law and legislation. From the Westlaw home page, select International Materials > Canada > Treatises > Encyclopedia.

Subscribe for daily alerts and legal information.

Selection of Canadian journals. Online via Library Catalogue.

Contains the current constitution for every country, constitutional histories, texts on constitutional law, links to scholarly articles about constitutional development, and a bibliography of selected constitutional books. Browsable by country or resource.

The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) was established to prevent discrimination and to promote and advance human rights in Ontario.