International law reports and cases
International case law databases
- All England Law Reports (via LexisNexis)The All England Law Reports is a general law report series of cases from 1936 to date. This series comprises judgments with headnotes and catchwords from the House of Lords, both divisions of the Court of Appeal and all divisions of the High Court. The service contains cross-references and hypertext links to both other All England cases and legislation cited in the report.
- AsianLII : Asian Legal Information InstituteAsianLII provides free access to legal information from all 27 countries and territories in Asia located from Japan in the east to Pakistan in the west, and from Mongolia in the north to Timor Leste in the south. Resources include databases of legislation, case-law, law reform reports, law journals and other legal information, where available, from each country in the region.
- British and Irish Legal Information Institute : BAILIIBAILII provides access to the most comprehensive free and up-to-date collection of British and Irish primary legal materials over the internet. As at October 2004, BAILII includes 46 databases covering 7 jurisdictions. The system contains around 7.5 gigabytes of legal materials and around 400,000 searchable documents with about 15 million internal hypertext links.
- Commonwealth Legal Information Institute : CommonLII
Open access database for core legal information from all Commonwealth countries, and includes external territories and dependencies, and common law jurisdictions.
- English Reports (via CommonLII)Based on data provided by Justis, this section of the CommonLII web site includes all of the reports from English Reports, covering the years 1220 to 1873, as pdf page images. The cases can be browsed by name or by year, or the database can be searched via the search options near the top of the page.
- English Reports (via HeinOnline)Contains reprinted decisions of all English courts from 1220 to the commencement of the official Law reports in 1866. HeinOnline allows you to search or browse all 176 volumes of the English Reports, along with its "Index of Cases" and "Index Chart." This collection represents reprints of 275 separate series of reports, arranged by the English Courts: House of Lords, Chancery, Rolls Court, etc. The English Reports, Full Reprint contains over 100,000 cases reprinted verbatim and spans the years 1220 to 1867.
- ICLROnline platform including ICLR's Law Reports and Weekly Law Reports covering case law from the Superior and Appellate Courts in England and Wales. The platform also includes: case summaries, a citator service, access to legislation, and individual profiles in order to manage complex research. The platform also offers a large archive of unreported judgments given in England’s superior courts since 2000.
- Judicial Decisions Online (New Zealand)Judicial Decisions Online provides a searchable database of judgments and decisions sourced from New Zealand Courts.
- Vlex JustisVlex gives you access to hundreds of thousands of case judgments and legislation from common law jurisdictions around the world.
- Lloyd's law reportsReporting on decisions since 1919, Lloyd’s Law Reports is the most authoritative and comprehensive collection of maritime and commercial case decisions available.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw
Provides access to cases, legislation, journals, books online, and news. Also includes some international primary and secondary material.
- Westlaw UK
Provides UK legal resources. Case citator, commentary and authorised reports in a single search. With natural language search and a database of case law and journals, legislation and commentary to precedents, encyclopaedia and news.
- World Legal Information Institute : WorldLII
Provides a single search facility for databases located on the following Legal Information Institutes: AustLII, BAILII, CanLII, HKLII, LII (Cornell); and PacLII.
- New Zealand Law Reports (via LexisNexis)The New Zealand Law Reports (NZLR) is the official report series of New Zealand. It includes decisions of the Supreme Court of New Zealand, Court of Appeal and High Court. NZLR started in 1881 but complete sets have been deemed to start at 1861 and include a number of prior series.
International Case Citators
- KeyCite (Thomson Reuters Westlaw)There are several ways to access KeyCite information:
• While viewing a document with a KeyCite flag, click the flag.
• While viewing any document, click one of the following tabs at the top of the page: Negative Treatment, History, or Citing References.
• Type kc or keycite followed by a citation, e.g., kc 93 sct 1817 or keycite 93 sct 1817, in the text box at the top of the page and click Search. - Checking citations in KeyCite - User GuideHow to access KeyCite and check cases, statutes, regulations or administrative decisions.
- Oxford Law CitatorThe Oxford Law Citator is a research tool provided as part of a subscription to an Oxford University Press online law service. The Citator integrates and links content from Oxford University Press’s online law resources, and provides a record for every item of content published on an OUP law online service, and items referenced within content published on an OUP law online service.
International courts and tribunals
- CVRIACVRIA is the official website of the Court of Justice and Court of First Instance of the European Communities. The site provides access to information about the Court of Justice, Court of First Instance, and the Civil Service Tribunal. It includes the full text of judgments, orders, opinions and notices, and allows searching of cases from the Court of Justice, Court of First Instance and Civil Service Tribunal.
- International Court of JusticeThe International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN). It was established in June 1945 by the Charter of the United Nations and began work in April 1946.
- International Criminal CourtThe International Criminal Court (ICC) investigates and, where warranted, tries individuals charged with the gravest crimes of concern to the international community: genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity and the crime of aggression.
- International Tribunal for the Law of the SeaThe International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea is an independent judicial body established by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to adjudicate disputes arising out of the interpretation and application of the Convention.
- Permanent Court of ArbitrationThe PCA is an intergovernmental organization with 115 member states, established in 1899 to facilitate arbitration and other forms of dispute resolution between states.
- UN Documentation: International Courts and TribunalsThere are a wide variety of international courts and tribunals that have varying degrees of relation to the UN. These range from the ICJ, which is a principal organ of the organization; to the ad hoc criminal tribunals established by the Security Council; to the ICC and ITLOS, which were established by conventions drafted within the UN but which are now independent entities with special cooperation agreements. Other international courts may be completely independent of the UN.
- WorldLIICourts & International Courts & Tribunals
"How to" resources
- Find a UK court or tribunalSearch for a court or tribunal by name or address, or, by the A-Z list of all courts.
- Finding exactly what you need within the Law Reports seriesHow to search Lloyds Law Reports on i.law
- English Reports reference formats (JustCite)Since the English Reports are a compilation of earlier nominate report series, the citation formats vary considerably. This table lists the nominate citation formats utilised in the English Reports. Bear in mind that a case in the English Reports will also have an English Reports citation in the form Volume ER Page, which should be used for preference.
