Law

This Guide to researching EU law provides concise information about EU law sources and where to retrieve them.

The guide provides information on the European Union and how to navigate among EU documents.

This guide covers the NYU Law Library's EU depository collection of official documents and publications, plus related books, journals, case reporters, yearbooks, indexes, finding tools, databases, and websites.

CVRIA is the official website of the Court of Justice of the European Union and provides access to information about the Court of Justice, General Court and Civil Service Tribunal. It includes the full text of judgments, orders, opinions and notices, and allows searching of cases from these courts.

Provides access to documentation on EU law, and covers the areas of external relations, secondary and supplementary legislation, and a series of non-binding acts. EUR-Lex also offers access to Official Journal issues, EU treaties, international agreements, legislation in force, preparatory acts, case-law and parliamentary questions.

The Parliament acts as a co-legislator, sharing with the Council the power to adopt and amend legislative proposals and to decide on the EU budget. It also supervises the work of the Commission and other EU bodies and cooperates with national parliaments of EU countries to get their input.

ESO helps you to find information on the European Union, the countries of Europe and on issues of concern to European citizens, researchers and stakeholders.

Legislationline.org provides direct access to international norms and standards relating to specific human dimension issues (see list of topics on left-hand column) as well as to domestic legislation and other documents of relevance to these issues.

N-Lex provides a single entry point to the national law databases on individual EU countries. Choose a country from those listed to search for legal acts or find out more about its legal system.

The ABC of European Union law by Klaus-Dieter Borchardt examines the roots of the European project and its development as a legal order, and is a definitive reference work on the subject. The author offers insight into how the European Union is built, its broad principles and the legal order underpinning it, looking at this in relation to the national laws of the Member States.
This book is intended for people with no specialist legal knowledge who wish to understand the implications of European law for their daily lives.

A timeline of the history of the EU